Warm Belgian Endive and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I grew up eating belgian endive. The dijon made it more bitter/tart and the nuts as well. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marcus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Yum! I have never made anything with endives before but they looked so cute in the store. :) Reading the reviews where people added honey I thought I'd like to sweeten the dressing up too, but had no honey. So I added brown sugar to taste and LOVED this change. The leaves are so pretty I didn't want to cut up into rings, so I peeled off leaves until wouldn't peel, then would slice a couple rings, then peel again, all the way to top. I liked the presentation... some rings, some leaves, it was interesting. I sort of stir fried it in the sauce, and when it lost the super crunchy texture it also lost the bitterness. Still a firm, nice texture and very tasty, will make again to impress guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Delicious! Husband loved it too! Don't leave it on too long- tastes perfect just a little warm but still has crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NapoliCharity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Fantastic!!! I did not change a thing! I made this as a side dish for a pork tenderloin. The guests, 1 being finicky and the other being a very talented cook raved about it. It was one of those dishes that will have no left overs and you will wish there had been! :) Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Pretty yummy. Added some bacon. Could probabaly use a little less sauce for a lighter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty! Different & fine dining like. Easy and elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Made this last night for dinner. I tried the dressing before adding it to the pan and found it bitter (could be because I eye-balled the lemon juice) so I just added a dash of sugar. First time I've eaten endive and I will make it again! UPDATE: I had to change my four stars to five stars because my mom and I were craving this recipe so I made it again and this time measured everything exact and didn't add the sugar and everyone at home loved this recipe! Thank you for a delicious healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very different. First time eating endives and certainly not the last. This recipe was really tasty. cannot keep leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Sorry, did not like this at all. It was mostly tasteless with bitter bits and the flavour of mustard was not complementary at all. I will definitely not be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
The pine nuts made it a bit more bitter than it should have been, but overall it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States