Warm Belgian Endive and Pine Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I grew up eating belgian endive. The dijon made it more bitter/tart and the nuts as well. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marcus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Yum! I have never made anything with endives before but they looked so cute in the store. :) Reading the reviews where people added honey I thought I'd like to sweeten the dressing up too, but had no honey. So I added brown sugar to taste and LOVED this change. The leaves are so pretty I didn't want to cut up into rings, so I peeled off leaves until wouldn't peel, then would slice a couple rings, then peel again, all the way to top. I liked the presentation... some rings, some leaves, it was interesting. I sort of stir fried it in the sauce, and when it lost the super crunchy texture it also lost the bitterness. Still a firm, nice texture and very tasty, will make again to impress guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Delicious! Husband loved it too! Don't leave it on too long- tastes perfect just a little warm but still has crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NapoliCharity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Fantastic!!! I did not change a thing! I made this as a side dish for a pork tenderloin. The guests, 1 being finicky and the other being a very talented cook raved about it. It was one of those dishes that will have no left overs and you will wish there had been! :) Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Pretty yummy. Added some bacon. Could probabaly use a little less sauce for a lighter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty! Different & fine dining like. Easy and elegant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Made this last night for dinner. I tried the dressing before adding it to the pan and found it bitter (could be because I eye-balled the lemon juice) so I just added a dash of sugar. First time I've eaten endive and I will make it again! UPDATE: I had to change my four stars to five stars because my mom and I were craving this recipe so I made it again and this time measured everything exact and didn't add the sugar and everyone at home loved this recipe! Thank you for a delicious healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very different. First time eating endives and certainly not the last. This recipe was really tasty. cannot keep leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Sorry, did not like this at all. It was mostly tasteless with bitter bits and the flavour of mustard was not complementary at all. I will definitely not be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
The pine nuts made it a bit more bitter than it should have been, but overall it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States