Warm Apple Pocket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made this with pilsbury prerolled pie crust, used 5 apples instead of 3, turned out amazing!! My boyfried and I ate both of them before they were able to cool!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
it's a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My son loved this recipe. He said it was perfect. The only thing I changed was instead of brushing egg on the top I brushed it with water and sprinkled cinamon sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Photo by mammak
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! I really didn't get a slice but the boys did and they said it was great! I called it hybrid because I used part or Melissas Fried apple Pie recipe too by using 4 apples and simmered them with spices and some water to help along. Used cornstarch to help thicken some. Is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was very good, it turned out exactly as they were supposed to. I changed it around a bit though. I made my own pie crust and made the pockets themselves smaller. I'm planning to use them in lunches. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I used a box of Pillsbury pie crust. Cutting each pie crust into quarters, I was able to make 8 pockets. I used an apple peeler, corer, slicer to prepare the apples. I did, however, find I needed to cut them into smaller pieces as I was making smaller pockets. I used cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice as my "apple pie spice". Do not skip brushing with the egg mixture as that gave them a terrific shine. When I tasted the finished product my first thought, "not enough apple filling." (You couldn't fit more if you wanted to). My second thought, "this needs vanilla ice cream". My 3rd thought, "Oh my, this is fantastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Excellent!!! I made this last years x-mas and it will be the desert for this years x-mas again! Everybody loved it...I would not change anything about it! I just took a little less sugar because we dont like it to sweet :) This is a MUST to try! Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
pretty yummy--but I used some leftover apple pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I thought this was very good. I cooked the apples beforehand to make sure they were soft, and it ended up being kind of messy when trying to fold into a pocket but the finished product was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
They were the best apple pockets I've ever tasted. I wanted to make a double batch! I also used pilsbury pie crust and granny smith apples, so I added a little more sugar and My family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States