Warm Apple Pocket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I used a box of Pillsbury pie crust. Cutting each pie crust into quarters, I was able to make 8 pockets. I used an apple peeler, corer, slicer to prepare the apples. I did, however, find I needed to cut them into smaller pieces as I was making smaller pockets. I used cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice as my "apple pie spice". Do not skip brushing with the egg mixture as that gave them a terrific shine. When I tasted the finished product my first thought, "not enough apple filling." (You couldn't fit more if you wanted to). My second thought, "this needs vanilla ice cream". My 3rd thought, "Oh my, this is fantastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by mammak
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! I really didn't get a slice but the boys did and they said it was great! I called it hybrid because I used part or Melissas Fried apple Pie recipe too by using 4 apples and simmered them with spices and some water to help along. Used cornstarch to help thicken some. Is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made this with pilsbury prerolled pie crust, used 5 apples instead of 3, turned out amazing!! My boyfried and I ate both of them before they were able to cool!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was very good, it turned out exactly as they were supposed to. I changed it around a bit though. I made my own pie crust and made the pockets themselves smaller. I'm planning to use them in lunches. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My husband and I agree this really needed more sugar and wasn't really as gooie as we like apple pie to be, but that is on a personal level. It turned out beautifully, nice shape and the aroma was incredible, the apple filling was good just not quite sweet enough for our tastes. Will probly try again and just alter a little. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Excellent for the little effort, but I think I'll need to play around with the pastry and spices to get the texture and flavour to my liking, but I can see how this could be great. I am in NZ, so we don't have pre-mixed apple pie spice or the same kind of bought pie pastry (not as good) , I used a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a pretty good recipe. I didn't have any apple pie spice on hand so I just mixed a little brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg in. Used my own crust and added a little water to the egg. I also topped with cinnamon and sugar. It's a cute idea and packed well for my husband to take to work. Could use a little lemon juice with the apple mixture. I may stick with apple pie filling recipe I usually use. Oh, I also used rice milk in place of reg milk, as my son and I can't have dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I thought this was very good. I cooked the apples beforehand to make sure they were soft, and it ended up being kind of messy when trying to fold into a pocket but the finished product was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My son loved this recipe. He said it was perfect. The only thing I changed was instead of brushing egg on the top I brushed it with water and sprinkled cinamon sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I did not like it ,the dough was hard to work with and it need some more of some.I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me1714

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States