Warm Apple Pocket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I used a box of Pillsbury pie crust. Cutting each pie crust into quarters, I was able to make 8 pockets. I used an apple peeler, corer, slicer to prepare the apples. I did, however, find I needed to cut them into smaller pieces as I was making smaller pockets. I used cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice as my "apple pie spice". Do not skip brushing with the egg mixture as that gave them a terrific shine. When I tasted the finished product my first thought, "not enough apple filling." (You couldn't fit more if you wanted to). My second thought, "this needs vanilla ice cream". My 3rd thought, "Oh my, this is fantastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was pretty good. I used puff pastry cos that is what I had, so I ended up with a rectangular "pie". This was very easy to make and the 40 mins to cook meant the apple cooked perfectly without needing any pre-cooking. I though putting liquid vanilla extract with the dry ingredients would be messy, so I used vanilla sugar, which I also sprinkled on top before baking. I used a milk wash instead of egg cos I can't stand the waste when using an egg wash. Looked very pretty and tasted good, went well with custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was alright, for a pie you can pick up and eat with your hands. Definitely quick and easy to make. Not as gooey as a traditional pie, but I'd make it again, as individual mini pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I did not like it ,the dough was hard to work with and it need some more of some.I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me1714

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
it's a winner every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I thought this was very good. I cooked the apples beforehand to make sure they were soft, and it ended up being kind of messy when trying to fold into a pocket but the finished product was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
My husband and I agree this really needed more sugar and wasn't really as gooie as we like apple pie to be, but that is on a personal level. It turned out beautifully, nice shape and the aroma was incredible, the apple filling was good just not quite sweet enough for our tastes. Will probly try again and just alter a little. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This was very good, it turned out exactly as they were supposed to. I changed it around a bit though. I made my own pie crust and made the pockets themselves smaller. I'm planning to use them in lunches. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Excellent for the little effort, but I think I'll need to play around with the pastry and spices to get the texture and flavour to my liking, but I can see how this could be great. I am in NZ, so we don't have pre-mixed apple pie spice or the same kind of bought pie pastry (not as good) , I used a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made this with pilsbury prerolled pie crust, used 5 apples instead of 3, turned out amazing!! My boyfried and I ate both of them before they were able to cool!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States