Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
Delicious! I used three apples because two just didn't look like enough. This kept me from being able to use all the custard, but I was able to use most of it. And the streusel topping was a little more than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM...this is THE BEST apple pie ever, it was easy to do and came out beutifully. The crust was slightly under done, I think you should use a pre-baked one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
My family loved this pie! It was different and I will definitely make this again. I used 3 apples instead of 2 because they were small and luckily had room for all of the filling and topping. I did bake it 5 minutes longer than in the directions and it still was not completely set in the center when it finally came out but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Being a lover of apple AND custard pies I was anxious to give this recipe a try, however, I was disappointed in the final product. It was far too sweet, and the custard had a strange texture. Perhaps from the 2 Tbsp flour (which I thought was strange to add to a custard filling), or from the streusel topping? It wasn't a BAD pie, but it didn't live up to my high expectations I guess. Sorry, but I won't be making this pie again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Yummy ! Boyfried said it was the best apple pie he had ever had. Coming from my picky eater that is pretty good. I did cut down on the sugar though. I just used the whole cup portions of the sugar. The first time it was a bit sweet, the second time was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
We loved this pie. My wife never eats sweets till I make this pie. I once used Coco powder in place of the flour and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
this was overall very good. i had a lot of custard leftover after pouring it over the apples, so i would maybe cut that part in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
This is the VERY BEST apple pie I have every made. Not only my husband like it everyone at work was salivating for more. This recipe is PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
This is an excellent apple pie recipe, I was a bit nervous about the mixture of apples and custard but it's absolutely delicious! I did cut down the sugar to one cup in the custard though after reading the reviews suggesting that it was to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Good flavor but WAY too sweet, even though I cut back on the sugar after reading the reviews. I used 1 cup of sugar in the custard, and scant measurements of the other sugars. Also, the butter is not needed with cooking the apples. I only used 1 Tablespoon and it was fine, and the next time I make this i will either use 1/2 tablespoon or maybe none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States