Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I put in 3/4 cup of sugar, after reading the reviews. It made it a little too unsweet. I will do 1 cup next time. I think the point of a custard is to be sweet....but if you don't like sweet, just cut the sugar. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I only made half of the custard and it was just the right amount. I didn't end up using all the streusel topping because there was so much. This pie was just fantastic tasting. My whole family loved it and we will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARRINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Excellent! I took the pie to a covered dish dinner. Everyone loved it! I have since substituted blueberries for the apples and another time 1 cup shredded coconut omitting the topping. My husband claimed it to be the best coconut custard he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent. Very easy, very delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Took others advice and cut sugar to one cup, next time may reduce to 3/4 cup. Didn't do topping and glad I didn't, it would have been way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very different pie. Also quite good. Had two apples to use up in frig and this hit the spot. The pie is nothing like i've had before. We all liked it. The apples really add to the buttermilk custard filling and the topping gave it a slight butterscotch flavor. I thought the topping would burn as it's in the oven for 1 hour but it came out perfect. Remember to let it cool before cutting as recipe suggests. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I followed this recipe to the T, and it turned out terrific. One guest said this was the best apple pie he had ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Klo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texas Cook
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
My family unanimously agreed this is one of the best pies they'd ever tasted. Made it for a New Years get-together. Used Pillsbury refrigerated pie dough (kind that you roll out) and put in a glass pie plate. This allows you to crimp some fancy edges on your pie so people will think you made the dough from scratch, too :~) The filling amount that the recipe called for was absolutely the perfect amount, but I only used about 2/3 (not 2/3 cup) of the streusel topping mixture. It covered the pie completely and was quite thick--any more would have been too much. Also, I used 1 cup and about 2 Tbl of white sugar instead of the 1 1/3 cup in the buttermilk filling and the sweetness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I made a double batch - used extra apple (about 7 for two pies) Bravo! It was a big hit with my class albiet mostly hungry young folks. They wanted the recipe...Great Comfort Food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Yum! This was absolutely the best! I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I cut back on the sugar to 1 C (thanks for the tip!) and found that it took nearly 1-1/4 hrs. (AFTER the first 30 minutes) I plan on making another one today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States