Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Excellent Recipe! This was the first pie I ever made, I followed it exactly, and it came out wonderfully. I took this to a cookout & there were 3 other pies -- this was the only one with nothing but crumbs left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REIVEX

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was really good! The topping really mnade the pie for me, but it is very sweet. If you don't like things really sweet I'm not sure this is your pie! I had to add another Tbsp of butter to the topping to make it the right consistency. Also, just used one cup of sugar in the custard, which I did not find sweet at all. That's OK because the topping makes up for it. I used a graham cracker crust and I really liked that. Next time I'll use 4 apples instead of 2 because I couldn't taste them as much as I'd like. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I've been making this since it for years and it's our family favorite! Birthdays, holidays, you name it. It's simply wonderful, especially warm. I can't say enough about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Swisher, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Oh my! This is so yummy. I have made this on several different occasions and it always gets rave reviews. It is pretty sweet and I have cut down on the sugar most times. I forgot last time and it was still so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I didn't change a thing. It was very delicious, and I can see why someone one a contest with it. Thank you so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBrul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
i made this pie for my boyfriend's family and they absolutely loved it. the only thing is, there was way too much buttermilk mixture and it overflowed and made like a crust on the pie tin and dripped... maybe less buttermilk mixture... im not complaining because it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Suh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Wow! This turned out great! I took a chance at the combination of custard/apple since some reviewers had said it didn't go together. I am glad that this gamble paid off. I sliced Granny Smith apples very thin, cooked it until it had softened quite a bit. I will cut down on the sugar to maybe just 1 Cup next time because it was just a little bit too sweet, but not so much that it wasn't enjoyable. You are a genius Donna! And I thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I love custard and I love apple pie, but not together, this is ok for a change but I don't think I will make it again. I did not have buttermilk so had to add vinegar to regular milk and let it sit. I used my own topping, sweetness was ok, author of recipe does not say however if you add the fluid you cook the apples in, I didn't, maybe I should have? I also baked the pie crust for about 10 minutes before adding the custard to keep crust from going soggy. I used a 10" pie pan so no run over or extra filling left over. Think in the future I will stick to strictly custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is the most wonderful recipe! I did not change a thing and it turns out great everytime. Great cozy dessert for a cold evening. Comfort food at it's finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This pie combined 2 of my husband's beloved desserts--apple pie and chess pie! This was delicious! I cut back the sugar and butter as others suggested. Kind of custard like. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States