Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Best Pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clarence, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a wonderful pie, very good. I will change it some next time I make it. Way too much butter in the recipie, a little greasy with not enough apple. but we still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Saben

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
this is good but as made it's too sugary, so I cup the sugar by 1/3 os a cup in the custard it helped and it set up better. thanks I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Really yummy pie. My brothers and sister all asked for more. Almost had to beat them off and then had to hide the pie in the fridge so it wouldn't go missing. I rated it 4 stars as unless the pie is sheer perfection, it doesn't deserve a 5 star rating. This was yummy but not the best i've ever had. And i LOVE apple pies, so i'm pretty hard to please. Kept the recipe as is, just added a bit more spice and uses fresh nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Overall, this is a really delicious pie. I took reviewers' advice and reduced the total amount of sugar in the recipe, but next time I will probably keep the sugar in the custard layer at 1 1/3 of cup or maybe even use some brown sugar. I will also double the apples and refridgerate the pie overnight before serving. I made my own pie crust ("French Pastry Pie Crust" from this website) and that also made it extra-tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was really good. I cut the sugar to 1 cup and used scant sugar for the apples, and it was fabulous!! It's very easy for how awesome it is. I also used the oil pie crust recipe from this site. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was ok, but as everyone said before it's extremely too sweet. I like the idea of custurd with the apples but won't be making this again because it's way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This was a pretty good pie, but don't make it the day before and reheat it. I used 1 cup of sugar for the filling, and 1/2 cup of both granulated and brown sugar for the topping. I only regret that I had to leave it until the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Berwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was REALLY rich!! My famliy loved it, but I thought it was too sweet. I think next time I won't put on the topping and see how it turns out. I loved the custard and the apples together! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Excellent Recipe! This was the first pie I ever made, I followed it exactly, and it came out wonderfully. I took this to a cookout & there were 3 other pies -- this was the only one with nothing but crumbs left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REIVEX

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States