Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Fantastic!!! I ignored the reviewers suggestions and made it exactly as the recipe was written. I was perfection! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My family loves it! My mom is the bake sale guru and she asked me to make this for an upcoming sale at our church. Allher stuff is quality controlled and more or less gourmet; so I was thrilled she loved it. A quick note....I used 3 medium apples and the recipe made enough for 2 shallower pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this was really nice and different. I lessened the sugar as suggested. Wasn't gooey enough for me and I think I'd add another apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a bit time consuming to make, but well worth it! I used another recipe on here (Aunt Ruth's Pie Crust) for the pie crust. I doubled the recipe to make two pies. However, when I put the apples in and the custard, it did not fill the pie shells. This was because I had used deep dish pie pans. I ended up adding more apples to the mix and it did rise a little before I put the crumb mix on. I would suggest that you double the apple part of the recipe if using a deep dish pan. The flavors of apple and custard complimented each other very well and it was like eating two desserts at once! I will definitely save this one for future holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2CHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frazee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I'm not really one for making pie, but I had an overabundance of apples this fall and needed to do something with them! This pie was amazing! I took it to work and everyone loved it. Will pass it on for sure! (It is on the sweet side, watch out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
really great but I agree about the sugar Iam going to make some today with half the sugar in the apples and see I would also add a bit more apples but very good and used "Ruths grandmas pie crust recipe also very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was just ok, I had high hope for it since it was recommended by a friend. I don't mind sweet desserts but this was a little much. It has a great flavor so I may make it again without the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
In an effort to use up my buttermilk, I tried this recipe and it turn out beautifully. The custard was delicious! Held up very well and complemented the apples. I did add less sugar here and there, since other reviewers commented on it's excessive sweetness. It was still sweet enough for me. Will make again if I get some left over buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S! I don't really like apple pie and I LOVE this pie! We had guests over and the husband commented that this was the best apple pie he has ever had. My husband thought it was wonderful too! This is a keeper when I want to make a GREAT dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States