Warm and Limey Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Wow, this salad is fantastic! It's light and tangy and very flavorful. My entire family loved it and my husband declared that it's a "do again" meal. I imagine that it is also good if you chill the chicken for a summertime salad. Thanks Deb for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
My husband, also, called this a do-again. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins--the color contrast was very pretty and the lime and cranberry flavors are good together. Loved how easy and pretty this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
VERY GOOD! I substituted sliced almonds for walnuts because of personal taste and they worked great. I will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This recipe was pretty good, but it had A LOT of lime in it. Next time I think I'll cut down on the amount of lime juice called for in the recipe. Otherwise, it was light and tangy, and nice for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Light, refreshing, tasty and good for you. This is a wonderful summer eve's salad. The only additions I made were 2cups romaine lettuce, 1/2 cup celery, and 1/2 cup purple onion. Thanks for a great recipe,Deb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Great! I didn't use the frozen limeade, and it wasn't even missed. I cut the oil down to 1 Tbl, and added 1/4 tsp. salt with the pepper. I used regular raisins; also, I toasted the walnuts first. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This was good - very tangy. I didn't include the raisins, instead I used cranberries. A unique chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
SERVED THIS SALAD AT MY WOMEN'S GROUP DINNER! EVERYONE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This was great. I didn't have any limeade concentrate but will try it next time. I toasted the walnuts and sprinkled everything with fresh cilantro. Will definately make again - and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was a wonderful jumping off point for a super, tasty change of pace! My husband (picky eater!) ate every bite! To cut down on time and on the ingredients I didn't have, I made some alterations: no zest, no lettuce, no walnuts; substituted 1/2 t dijonnaise for mustard, only used 1/2 lb chicken, 1/4 c pine nuts added, 1 celery heart trimmed and chopped coarsely, 1/2 c dried cranberries, 1/4 c raisins, plus a few cranks of sea salt. The dressing was prepared and all ingredients were tossed into a large glass bowl and the dressing poured over top. Tossed salad a few times and served. Took about 20 minutes. Took my husband and I about 7 minutes to devour the whole thing! He even ate the celery! (Hates celery ;) ) Mmmm!!! Many Thanks to Deb Mitchell for this! jkp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States