War Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
My grandma makes this with a little variation. It's made in a bundt cake pan minus the candied citron and then cooled and covered in a melted Hershey's bar. It's wonderful! Keeps well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe for over 50 years! My mom used tomake this for us all the time as we were very poor and couldn't afford real cakes and desserts so we got War Cake . I LOVE IT!!! Thank you very much. Pati
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I made this for a BBQ and everyone loved it. The kids wanted this cake instead of the box cake I made with all of the sweet frosting. Thanks for a great recipe and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
It came out tasting very good I used blueberries instead of walnuts, will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
THis recipe dates back to WW1Very good and keeps well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
i loved this recipe... both my daughter and my mom are highly allergic to milk and milk bi-products this was the first time in 20 years my mom was able to have cake! I made a few minor changes though...trippled the cinnamon so i used 1.5 tps and we dont eat raisins or nuts...so instead i added a cup of apple sauce....it was really good and i will certainly use this recipe again thanks a lot stephanie!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I made this with chocolate chips instead of raisins, and left out the nutmeg. Delicious, even if it wasn't true war cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tash
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Minor changes: I doubled the cinnamon and left out the nutmeg. I used 2.5 cups total of dried cranberries and almonds instead of the other fruit/nuts. I used sunflower oil instead of shortening. Cut back on the baking powder to 3tsp which still seemed like a lot compared to how much flour it has. REVIEW: The batter was VERY THICK, more like a sticky dough then batter. Seeing that I only cooked it for 25 minutes and checked it, toothpick came out clean and edges were starting to brown. Also bounced back when pushed on. Let it cool a few min and cut it. Very good. Not ultra sweet like modern cake, or light, but a denser bar type snack. Not super moist and sticky like quick bread either. Gave it four stars because the time stated to cook is far far too long, no wonder some turned out dry. Also the quantity of the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Not very good. It was VERY thick batter and it came out very dense and dry. The raisins tasted burnt too. The cake wasn't but the raisins tasted burnt anyway. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROSM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
The ingredients used in War Cake were used because they were easy to find during the depression... therefor no candied citron! It's delicious and moist and flavorful with just the true War Cake ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States