Walnut Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
My family loved these scones, they were so good. We ate them warm with iced tea. My mom thought that they would be good with a glaze, even though she realized that it wouldn't be very scone-like. Still they were very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Yummy, My sister made this for me while I was visiting and they were wonderful. I am going to make them this weekend for a brunch I am hosting....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I've baked a lot of scone recipes, and this is one of the best. I buy lemons or sale and freeze the juice in ice cubes in 1 tlbs. amounts. I didn't have the lemon zest this recipe called for, so I used some of the juice, and cut down the buttermilk and they turned out and tasted great. I will make these only from now on, Thanks for taking the time to give us your great recipe. DENBIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
If you enjoy the scones at Starbucks - you'll love these! I didn't have buttermilk, so I added a teaspoon of white vinegar to the milk. And instead of cutting into 14 pieces, I cut out 8. This is an easy recipe and has just the right consistency of REAL scones - not the cakelike stuff I've tried before! My next batch will be Chocolate Chip with grated orange peel instead of the lemon. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
its was great! Instead of the walnuts and raisins i added chocolate chips too...my fam loved the lightness of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAPUANANI468

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
These scones are simply the Best! They were are great hit with my friends. I will make these often, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Crunchy on the outside, nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Oh my goodness these things are yummy!!! I made them using 1 1/2 cups white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat, to equal 2 cups. I brought them to a gardening meeting and they were so good that 4 people asked me to send them the recipe. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
I liked this a lot. The trick is not overworking the dough I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Not overly sweet...so those who do not have a sweet tooth can eat them plain, and those that do can smother them with jam (my preference). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States