Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever tasted! I have made it at least 8 times in the last 4 weeks for several different people and everyone loves it! I had made two of the pies one morning and in the afternoon 4 of my husband's friends stopped by after a day of pheasant hunting. I offered each one of them a piece of pie and to my cook's heart's delight they all raved about it! I mean they were seriously excited about the pie after the first bite. Two of the men said it was the best pumpkin pie they had ever eaten -- these men were in their 50's and 60's, so I imagine they have tried many pumpkin pies. I keep waiting for their spouses to call to ask for the recipe, but, of course, how do you go home and tell your wife your friend's wife makes the best pumpkin pie! Thank you so much for this recipe. Recently, I made 4 of them for the church bake sale and they sold before we could even put a price on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is a recipe that I tried last year and it was a hit! i didn't want to make a traditional pumpkin pie without adding a little magic to it. The walnut topping sure did the trick! This will remain one of my all time favorites as far as pumkpin pies go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was easy and all who had a slice loved it! I used two eggs instead of one and 1/2 cup of brown sugar in the pumpkin custard mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This came out excellent. I made the pumpkin puree from scratch and used two eggs instead of the one and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very good. I brought it to work for Thanksgiving and my co-workers loved it!! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
THANK YOU for this recipe!!! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was the BEST Pumpkin Pie I've ever tasted. My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was AWESOME! I used 2 eggs instead of one, 3 tbs. pumpkin pie spice(instead of separate spices) and added extra cinnamon. I did use Eagle brand condensed milk as suggested on another recipe. Don't know what difference that made, but it sure turned out delicious! I also used extra brown sugar in the topping, and used an unbaked pastry pie crust instead of the graham cracker crust. Everyone loved it and I will be making it every year (and in between holidays, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
YUM!! I made this exactly like the recipe except used a regular pastry crust. I saw that others used 2 eggs and most recipes call for more but I used the one. DELICIOUS! It was a major hit. Am making again for Christmas and it will definitely be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
My husband made this for Thanksgiving and we LOVED it and now we have it almost every other weekend. We also took it to a family dinner at Christmas. Everyone LOVED it too. Heating it up makes it even better each time. It is EASY and sooo YUMMY! OMG Jackie it is good. You have brought a new tradition into our meals. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparacino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Awesome pumpkin pie! I too used a regular pastry crust and opted to cover it with tin foil a little more than halfway through baking to keep it from getting too brown. At first people were made that I would dare mess with pumpkin pie by adding walnuts, but one bite and everyone was sold. The brown sugar/walnut topping for sure made an excellent addition! :) Aside from using regular pie pastry, everything else was made as indicated in the directions. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States