Walnut Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Oh my gosh was this a yummy twist for cheesecake! I had pecans on hand so that is what I used and it turned out AWESOME. People were expected the usual graham cracker crust and were pleasantly surprised! I will use this one again without a doubt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT pie crust! I substituted splenda for the equivalent of 2 tbsp of sugar and put SF Chocolate fudge pudding in it. YUMMMM! Thank you for a wonderful pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I have only tried this once and I used it with a tripleberry pie filling (I would not suggest this crust for that). It is a great crust and I want to use it again with a chocolate pie filling or maybe even apple... I like the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Very good with Banana Pineapple Delight from this site. I didn't have any ground nuts on hand, so I food processed some walnuts and pecans together. It worked fine. I saved some of the sugary, buttery pieces to sprinkle on top for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Interesting recipe. It was quite greasy but the flavor was very good. I used brown sugar instead of white and I added some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
i'm new to baking and this is the first time i have ever made pie crust. this recipe is so good and easy! i used 1 3/4cup of walnuts ground up in my blender. i also added a tablespoon of brown sugar in addition to the white sugar. i used a cheesecake filling and topped it with all kinds of fruit. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Wow! Really tasty - I will use this one again when I want a change from graham cracker or regular pie crust. I used brown sugar to try to replicate a Raspberry Walnut Tart I had at a restaurant, and the crust was dead on. (Need to work on the filling though!) Pecans would do nicely also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Instead of ground walnuts, I used chopped walnuts instead. And it turns out really crunchy. Great for chocolate fudge pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toa Payoh, Central Region, Singapore
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe for those who want to avoid gluten. It tastes great and holds up to a lot of pie fillings. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States