Walnut Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Easy and excellent! I'm going to use almonds today. I used agave instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this as a gluten free alternative to other pie crusts for Thanksgiving this year! I made it with Pink Leomonade Pie filling and it was to DIE for. I will never make a graham cracker crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this recipe as a gluten free alternative for the graham cracker crust called for in a key lime pie recipe from this site. The crust was easy to make, tasted good and held together well (all things that can be hard to find in gluten free cooking!). My only "problem" with the recipe was that I had to bake it for longer than the suggested 10 minutes. I used a 10 inch Le Cresuet stoneware pie dish and had to bake it for 20 minutes. Also, I was suprised at the amount of "grease" in the crust when it was done baking. I used paper towels to blot it while it was cooling. I did notice that it dried more while it cooled. I cooled it for about 45 minutes and then filled it with the key lime pie and baked an additional 10 minutes. I can't wait to try this with my great-grandmother's dark chocolate pie recipe!! This is definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I'm planning to use this recipe as the base for my sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving dinner. It was my son's idea. The crust is in the oven right now & I can't wait to taste the finished product tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Came out a little gooey but tasted good, and held together. It was sweet but not overly so. Good lower carb option. Complemented the Sweet Potato Pie VII from this site and would make a good Thanksgiving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I use this crust every time I make a pie! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colie
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Mine turned out very greasy. Next time I'll add a bit more walnuts. Very, very good though. This recipe will be used frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great way to make a diabetic treat! I used Splenda for the sugar & a mix of pecan/walnut. Topped it with Splenda Sweet Potato Pie. Really good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This crust is awesome. I have made it with walnuts and also with almonds and pecans. I may try it with macadamia nuts with a French Silk pie. Today I'm using walnuts and making a pumpkin cheesecake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States