Walnut Maple Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This recipe is the same as on the Nestle's white chocolate morsels bag. I used a candy thermometer and the fudge set up perfectly. Like other folks..I have to agree the taste of the white chocolate over powers the maple. If you are looking for a real maple flavored fudge..this is not the recipe you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I used pecans instead of walnuts. I also used a candy thermometer and let it reach 240F & let it boil at that temp for about 3-4 min before turning off the heat & adding the rest of the ingredients. Fudge came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this over the holidays. Everyone that tried it, loved it. I will make it again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Stevenson Seiler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chanute, Kansas, USA
Living In: Colby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is an easy fudge recipe that takes no time at all and turns out wonderfully. After having read the reviews, I decided to use semi-sweet chips rather than white, used a tsp more maple extract, and about a 1/3 cup more walnuts. Absolutely devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The flavor of this recipe is excellent! I used pecans instead of walnuts. It is very important to use a candy thermometer and boil until it reaches 234 degrees. Otherwise just boiling for 5 minutes is not long enough to allow the recipe to set. I also prefer to use marshmallow creme rather than mini marshmallows because it has a nice taste and texture, and also melts more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have never made fudge before but my husband requested this, I didn't think I would eat any but it is sublime! I used toasted pecans instead of walnuts which were wonderful, next time I'll use about 50% more than the recipe calls for because I like the crunch they add. Next time I'll add a pinch of salt or perhaps salt the pecans while toasting them. The texture of this was really perfect, smooth and creamy instead of dry and grainy like a lot of fudge is. I also agree the presentation was lovely. Thanks for the recipe, I will use it as is and try many modifications in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Quite good! I agree with a previous reviewer who said that the white chocolate taste was a little overwhelming. I upped the maple extract to 3 tsp, only added 2 cups of white chocolate chips and I can still taste the chocolate clearly. After reading the other reviews that said their fudge came out too soft I used a candy thermometer to make sure the sugar/milk/butter mixture got all the way to 234 degrees. It boiled for much much longer (I live at a high altitude, that might have been part of it as well). Either way, the marshmallows and chocolate melted just fine and it cooled to the perfect fudge consistency. I also toasted the walnuts before I added them and that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe is great. You need to make sure you bring it to a fast boil and boil it for 5 minutes. I doubled the recipe and added a smidge more maple extract. Turned out wonderful. Also made the recipe substituting (in a double batch) 2 cups semi sweet chips, and 4 cups milk chocolate chips for the white chips. Made great chocolate fugde. Easier than Aunt Teen's Fudge. I like using the mini marshmellows instead of creme. The mixture boils quicker. Just have to do a lot of stirring after to melt everything. Will make this recipe often. I give a gifts at Christmas time. Everyones loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The recipe was easy enough, but the white chocolate chips didn't melt completly, and it took a long time for the marshmallows to melt also. Wasn't sure if this was how it is supposed to be. The flavor was good. I will continue to look for a better recipe along this line though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Made this without walnuts and it came out superbly smooth and rich. Very easy to make. Will try the next batch with the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States