Walnut Maple Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This recipe is the same as on the Nestle's white chocolate morsels bag. I used a candy thermometer and the fudge set up perfectly. Like other folks..I have to agree the taste of the white chocolate over powers the maple. If you are looking for a real maple flavored fudge..this is not the recipe you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I used pecans instead of walnuts. I also used a candy thermometer and let it reach 240F & let it boil at that temp for about 3-4 min before turning off the heat & adding the rest of the ingredients. Fudge came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this over the holidays. Everyone that tried it, loved it. I will make it again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chanute, Kansas, USA
Living In: Colby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is an easy fudge recipe that takes no time at all and turns out wonderfully. After having read the reviews, I decided to use semi-sweet chips rather than white, used a tsp more maple extract, and about a 1/3 cup more walnuts. Absolutely devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The flavor of this recipe is excellent! I used pecans instead of walnuts. It is very important to use a candy thermometer and boil until it reaches 234 degrees. Otherwise just boiling for 5 minutes is not long enough to allow the recipe to set. I also prefer to use marshmallow creme rather than mini marshmallows because it has a nice taste and texture, and also melts more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have never made fudge before but my husband requested this, I didn't think I would eat any but it is sublime! I used toasted pecans instead of walnuts which were wonderful, next time I'll use about 50% more than the recipe calls for because I like the crunch they add. Next time I'll add a pinch of salt or perhaps salt the pecans while toasting them. The texture of this was really perfect, smooth and creamy instead of dry and grainy like a lot of fudge is. I also agree the presentation was lovely. Thanks for the recipe, I will use it as is and try many modifications in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Quite good! I agree with a previous reviewer who said that the white chocolate taste was a little overwhelming. I upped the maple extract to 3 tsp, only added 2 cups of white chocolate chips and I can still taste the chocolate clearly. After reading the other reviews that said their fudge came out too soft I used a candy thermometer to make sure the sugar/milk/butter mixture got all the way to 234 degrees. It boiled for much much longer (I live at a high altitude, that might have been part of it as well). Either way, the marshmallows and chocolate melted just fine and it cooled to the perfect fudge consistency. I also toasted the walnuts before I added them and that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe is great. You need to make sure you bring it to a fast boil and boil it for 5 minutes. I doubled the recipe and added a smidge more maple extract. Turned out wonderful. Also made the recipe substituting (in a double batch) 2 cups semi sweet chips, and 4 cups milk chocolate chips for the white chips. Made great chocolate fugde. Easier than Aunt Teen's Fudge. I like using the mini marshmellows instead of creme. The mixture boils quicker. Just have to do a lot of stirring after to melt everything. Will make this recipe often. I give a gifts at Christmas time. Everyones loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The recipe was easy enough, but the white chocolate chips didn't melt completly, and it took a long time for the marshmallows to melt also. Wasn't sure if this was how it is supposed to be. The flavor was good. I will continue to look for a better recipe along this line though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Made this without walnuts and it came out superbly smooth and rich. Very easy to make. Will try the next batch with the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States