Walnut Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Super easy and satisfying "chocolate" fix! I used gluten free flour and two whole eggs (medium) and they turned out perfectly -- dense, rich, and fudgey. I really don't think there's any reason to use just the whites. I press the walnuts lightly on top of the batter in the pan instead of mixing in. Also great without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used 2T cornstarch and 4T water instead of eggs. I also used 1C powdered sugar instead of white. I melted 2 squares of bakers chocolate with the butter and put some honey in it while hot. I did have to add a little more water and turn the oven up to about *350 and bake for longer, but they turned out really well. Very chewy and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Owl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Most of these reviews used either whole eggs, cocoa instead of carob and/or wheat flour, or even changed the cooking time. This recipe as written was not good. Super sweet, yet has an aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
The texture of this brownie leaves something to be desired. The flavor was good but the texture seemed a little grainy... I may look for some alternate solutions and see what I can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These are YUMMO! I made these almost exactly like the recipe says except I used 1 whole egg. They are chewy, flavorful. All who tried them liked them, even one person who doesn't like carob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I'm so glad I found this recipe because I was told I was newly allergic to caffeine about a year and a half ago and haven't been able to have chocolate since. I've experimented with a couple carob-recipes, but was always looking for a good brownie one...something that would REALLY feel like I was eating chocolate. I followed this recipe ALMOST exactly and I am SO pleased with the results!!!! The only thing I changed were the eggs and the cooking time. I hate recipes that call for egg whites cuz the yolks are just wasted. I used a single "cup" of Egg Beaters, which I believe are just egg whites with yellow coloring. Anyway, those little cups come 3 to a pack and 1 of them is equal to 2 eggs. I also had to increase the time. I wonder if 300 degrees is a misprint? Anyway, I had to cook closer to 45 minutes at the suggested temperature of 300 degrees. I also had to make a minor change due to a missing ingredient. I didn't realize I only had about 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract left so I added a teaspoon of maple extract. It was the only similar flavored extract I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Pretty good basic brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
A great base recipe for sure. Very modifiable to your needs. As many reviewers did, I doubled the batch which made a nice 9x9" pan of brownies. I replaced 2c white sugar with 3/4c stevia in the raw & 3 tbsp brown sugar; instead of 4 egg whites I used 2 whole eggs & 2 egg whites; instead of 1/2c butter I used 1/4c butter & heaping 1/4c applesauce; used cocoa powder instead of carob powder; and used 1/2c pecans (all I had) instead of 2c walnuts. Turned out a nice, dense chewy brownie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
The BEST!!! Beautiful glaze on top, incredibly moist and decadent! I put them in a 9x9 stone pan and they barely covered the bottom. So I worried they would cook quicker. But they took the entire 30 minutes and were perfect! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Well I must say that with some minor changes, I made this dessert this evening and it was pretty good. I doubled the recipe, took out the nuts, white sugar, (I don't eat them). And exchanged the all-purpose for whole wheat flour, the carob for cocoa powder (will buy that another time to try later) and used brown sugar. I too used the whole egg and because I doubled the recipe, I had to bake it for an extra 25 minutes. Oh, yeah, I also added 2 oz. semi-sweet baker's chocolate and 2 tbsp of chocolate syrup. Next time I'll omit the chocolate syrup and use chocolate chips instead of baker's chocolate. Other than that, I enjoyed it. I need to know what to do to keep it from crumbling up so much also. Thanks for the recipe J.J. Waters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States