Walnut Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Used two whole eggs, and 100% whole wheat flour, no white flour at all. The brownies were VERY moist, really good, and the chocolate lovers in our house even enjoyed these! Bake time was about 45 mins. My favorite dessert ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Excellent brownies made with stuff you have around all the time. I used special dark cocoa powder instead of carob and 2 whole eggs (batter was too dry otherwise)Sure took care of the chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Delicious and addictive! I was thrilled to find this recipe with carob. I made some alterations: whole wheat flour vs. all-purpose, 2/3 cup brown sugar instead of white, and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
absolutely amazing! came out very chewy and sweet, i needed to cook it for about 50 min thou and the carob colored the mouth black so don't eat to many :) but they taste very good and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
These brownies are easy to make and they bake in no time. All my kids loved them and asked me to make them again. I used Earth balance instead of butter. I have also made these brownies with coco powder and they are great, I prefer the carob. Very chewy and will cure a chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
i made with 2 whole eggs, coco powder instead, and no walnuts. it was good, not the best i have had, but i enjoyed it along with boyfriend and guest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley1987
Photo by A Leaves Wish Knot
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
The recipe as is, isn't worth making again ( original score of 3 stars) unless you have dietary restrictions. However, after implementing ideas left by other users such as; two whole eggs and I added specialty chocolate. After that, I can say yes!!! It's the best!!! Its moist and substantial. I made double the recipe to help it fill the pan. Thanks everyone! final score 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
That was really good. I have had carob powder in my cupboard for years and never got the perfect recipe to use it in. Finally! Also, it was perfect, because I had 2 leftover eggwhites that I needed to use up. I did use 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup, and it still came out really sweet. I also used carob chips instead of walnuts, as I did not hav any. Came out sooo good! The only thing I would say, is that for some reason, I felt that the batter was too little and it did not rise at all, so I had a very thin brownie. I wonder if everyone got that result. They tasted perfect though! Rich, chewy and so easy to make. Baked 30 mins, as the recipe asks and that was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Last Sunday, after an endless day grading papers, I was looking for something to satisfy my chocolate cravings and this was the cure! I always make box brownies because I have never had any luck making them from scratch. These were so much better! I ate half the pan that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krledvina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luxemburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wonderful brownies! We didnt have carob powder, so we used cocoa powder and 1 unsweetened chocolate baking sqaure, melted down the butter. Turned out wonderful!! I have got to get my hands on carob powder so I can try it out exactly as the recipe is written, but this was wonderful. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States