Walnut Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Super easy and satisfying "chocolate" fix! I used gluten free flour and two whole eggs (medium) and they turned out perfectly -- dense, rich, and fudgey. I really don't think there's any reason to use just the whites. I press the walnuts lightly on top of the batter in the pan instead of mixing in. Also great without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used 2T cornstarch and 4T water instead of eggs. I also used 1C powdered sugar instead of white. I melted 2 squares of bakers chocolate with the butter and put some honey in it while hot. I did have to add a little more water and turn the oven up to about *350 and bake for longer, but they turned out really well. Very chewy and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Owl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Most of these reviews used either whole eggs, cocoa instead of carob and/or wheat flour, or even changed the cooking time. This recipe as written was not good. Super sweet, yet has an aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
The texture of this brownie leaves something to be desired. The flavor was good but the texture seemed a little grainy... I may look for some alternate solutions and see what I can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These are YUMMO! I made these almost exactly like the recipe says except I used 1 whole egg. They are chewy, flavorful. All who tried them liked them, even one person who doesn't like carob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I'm so glad I found this recipe because I was told I was newly allergic to caffeine about a year and a half ago and haven't been able to have chocolate since. I've experimented with a couple carob-recipes, but was always looking for a good brownie one...something that would REALLY feel like I was eating chocolate. I followed this recipe ALMOST exactly and I am SO pleased with the results!!!! The only thing I changed were the eggs and the cooking time. I hate recipes that call for egg whites cuz the yolks are just wasted. I used a single "cup" of Egg Beaters, which I believe are just egg whites with yellow coloring. Anyway, those little cups come 3 to a pack and 1 of them is equal to 2 eggs. I also had to increase the time. I wonder if 300 degrees is a misprint? Anyway, I had to cook closer to 45 minutes at the suggested temperature of 300 degrees. I also had to make a minor change due to a missing ingredient. I didn't realize I only had about 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract left so I added a teaspoon of maple extract. It was the only similar flavored extract I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Pretty good basic brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
A great base recipe for sure. Very modifiable to your needs. As many reviewers did, I doubled the batch which made a nice 9x9" pan of brownies. I replaced 2c white sugar with 3/4c stevia in the raw & 3 tbsp brown sugar; instead of 4 egg whites I used 2 whole eggs & 2 egg whites; instead of 1/2c butter I used 1/4c butter & heaping 1/4c applesauce; used cocoa powder instead of carob powder; and used 1/2c pecans (all I had) instead of 2c walnuts. Turned out a nice, dense chewy brownie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
The BEST!!! Beautiful glaze on top, incredibly moist and decadent! I put them in a 9x9 stone pan and they barely covered the bottom. So I worried they would cook quicker. But they took the entire 30 minutes and were perfect! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Well I must say that with some minor changes, I made this dessert this evening and it was pretty good. I doubled the recipe, took out the nuts, white sugar, (I don't eat them). And exchanged the all-purpose for whole wheat flour, the carob for cocoa powder (will buy that another time to try later) and used brown sugar. I too used the whole egg and because I doubled the recipe, I had to bake it for an extra 25 minutes. Oh, yeah, I also added 2 oz. semi-sweet baker's chocolate and 2 tbsp of chocolate syrup. Next time I'll omit the chocolate syrup and use chocolate chips instead of baker's chocolate. Other than that, I enjoyed it. I need to know what to do to keep it from crumbling up so much also. Thanks for the recipe J.J. Waters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States