Walnut Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This baklava was absolutely off the chart delicious! It melted in my mouth and I was licking my fingers! I would recommend cutting the sugar to 3/4 cup in the syrup so it's not overly sweet. I can't wait to make it again- the entire family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was my first time making Baklava. I've worked with phyllo dough many times and this recipe is very forgiving. The sheets don't have to be perfect, sometimes one will tear, it dosent much matter. The top layers are what you see. Brought to a tailgate party and people loved it. Very impressive and not hard to make, only looks like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Love this! I make this recipe now and often have friends and family request baklava now that they've tried mine! Doesn't compare to any restaurant around my city, absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Solid Recipe. A few suggestions/thoughts: -as said in other reviews - ALWAYS pre-cut the Baklava -I suggest just adding as much butter as you think it needs between the layers. Make sure the layers are moist all over with butter before adding another layer. Syrup: -add a dash of rose water (if you have some on hand) -I added perhaps an extra tsp of honey (and used and orange blossom honey) -I also added a little extra lemon juice (use fresh) 1/2 Recipe: I made a 1/2 recipe using an 8x8 pan (also makes it easier to deal with the phyllo dough since its easier to make a smaller sheet rather than a larger sheet) Other notes: -maybe a little bland. I think I'll add more cinnamon next time. -good level of sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was incredible! Here are a few tips/adjustments: I never thaw my phyllo dough. I just take it straight out of the freezer, cut the end off the plastic package, and microwave it for 30 seconds. It has always come out perfect. I used half walnuts and half pecans for some variety. I made the syrup first, and then just left it on the stove top to cool. When measuring the honey, I poured the 1/4 cup into a measuring cup, then just poured the 1/2 cup water over the honey. This allowed the honey to come out easily. I think next time I will use a little less butter - 1 cup melted was too much. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe. Just remember to cut into squares, before adding syrup mixture, otherwise no syrup will reach the center, causing it to be dry. 2nd crush the walnuts into small bits or they'll be overpowering....Overall I got raves from my peeps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great recipe. My wife baked it the other night for the family. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Hey...great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Just made it this evening with a few friends. Super easy, and delicious! This is the first time I've ever used phyllo dough, and I was so happy with the result. I don't like lemon in sweets so I left out the lemon juice and reduced the sugar in the syrup by 1/4 of a cup and it turned out beautifully :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States