Walnut Apple Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Fabulous!!!! I made it several times ad shared the recipe with many other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Wow, this is delicious and a nice change to my traditional apple crisp. Great as is, but might add a few more nuts next time and a little nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I liked this, but it was pretty dry. Kind of like a cake, but not as moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by chicbunny
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My favorite recipe for apples. Takes a bit of work but its worth it in the end. The crust has a great crunch and the fruit is very juicy. I recommend using Granny Smith apples as it holds up well. Very good by itself but even better with vanilla ice cream. This is a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This turned out very strange. The dough was to thick to spread over the apples, so I struggled to get it to cover the fruit layer. I cooked it for 40 minutes at 350 degrees, and the topping was burnt. I'm not sure what I did wrong with this, as I followed the recipe. If I make this again I'll probably add a couple of splashes of milk to loosen the dough up, and also watch it more closely in the oven. It smelled great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
O.K. recipe if you dont like things sweet-to bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My husband really liked this much better then apple crisp. Takes a bit more time but well worth it. It freezes well and I put it in 2 8x8 so I could freeze one and it was handy to take out on short notice. I used Granny smith apples and they were tender but not mushy like some others go when cooked. Good even without ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Great base recipe! Good flavor, not too sweet. Walnuts provided great crunch. Served warm with freshly whipped creme and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I did change recipe a bit to reflect my style of cooking...in lieu of 2 c. flour, used 1 c. whole wheat flour, 1/2 c. unbleached flour and 1/2 c. oatmeal. Also added 2 c. + more apples (to make it deep dish style) and 2 tsp. apple pie spice in addition to the cinnamon to give a bit more spice. Made for a sorority meeting dessert and received many compliments! Those attending wanted the recipe to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Fairly quick to assemble--and even quicker to eat! I made this for an impromptu dinner party, and it was a hit. We served it with vanilla ice cream. My husband had seconds (and he's particular about desserts) This will become a regular part of my dessert repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was so good!! The only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts because it's what I had on hand. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States