Wally's Rib Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
AWESOME!!! I did cut the paprika and salt down to 1/8c each, just seemed too much to me. And I did 3/4c brown and 1/4c white sugar. Rubbed on flank steak 20 mins before grilling last night and it was sooo good. Prepped ribs by peeling membrane, rubbed with 1/4c apple cider vinegar and 1ts liquid smoke... This really tenderizes the ribs. Then, rubbed GENEROUSLY with Wally's Rib Rub, double wrapped in foil, in frige overnight. Cooked according to AR's Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs from this point on. BEST RIBS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!!! I'm gonna repeat the process exactly tonight with a pork loin for tomorrow's Sunday family dinner... I have no doubt it too will be extraordinary =) ***UPDATE: Pork loin came out GREAT! Did everything exactly the same (Wally's Rub, then Scott Hibb's sauce and method). Gonna do it again tonight with chicken breast. That makes 4 nights in a row we've used this rub! Steak, Ribs, Pork Loin, and now Chicken... Maybe Salmon tomorrow...? =) P.S. ONE batch has sustained us all of these meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought this spice mixture was amazing. I didn't rub the ribs and let them sit overnight and will do that next time. I rubbed the ribs, wrapped them in foil and backed them at 200 for four hours and then put them on the grill and slathered them with bbq sauce. The ribs were tender and oh-so flavorful. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This Rub is the Best! Excellent! Omitted the ground cayenne pepper. Absolutely the best Rub I have ever ate! Used it on grilled ribs. They turned out finger licking good. We did'nt even need any kind of dipping sauces. I will definitely be using this rub again and again. Would probably even be good on baked or grilled pork chops. No more store bought rub for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANTHER36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is my FAVORITE rub now. I use this on everything (i.e. steak, chicken, flank or skirt steak, ribs, and pork). This taste great on all meats. A dinner guest told me while eating it how wonderful it was and wanted to know the recipe. Even if you can't marinate it for hours, it's still incredible. I use it on the meat and then add olive oil before grilling. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I originally thought there was too much sugar, but the ribs came out great! I will make a double recipe next time to keep on hand in an air tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Good rub, although I did prepare the ribs a little differently. Rubbed the ribs with the spice mixture, put them on top of sliced onions on a large baking sheet, poured about a half can of beer on them, covered tightly with foil, and baked for 1-1/2 hours in a 350 degrees F oven. Then finished them off on the grill, basted with BBQ sauce, until they were crisped up, about 15 minutes, and served with extra BBQ sauce. Baking the ribs first cooked off the fat, and the ribs were succulent and flavorful. I cut back on the salt and cayenne, and will be using this rub in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Love, love, love this rub! I am rating it 5 stars because it is JUST that good; however, I did have to make a minor change. When I made the 1st batch exactly by the recipe, it was WAYYYYYYYYY to salty, so I made another batch without salt at all, combined the two batches and it was DELICIOUS (not to mention I now have enough rub to last for a long time!). So I highly recommend cutting the salt by half. You can always add more if it is not enough for your liking. After tasting these, most people I cook them for don't even bother with the BBQ sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good rub. I found it tasted a bit too sweet when I was `checking`it, but once on the meat I did not find the sweetness overpowering at all. I put the rub on the ribs the night before, then baked them on low int he over for 2 hours. Transferred to grill for 5 min a side and they were falling off the bone! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I cut the sugar down to 1/2 C white sugar and 1/2 C brown sugar to make it a bit healthier. The ribs were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I used this rub on the ribs for my son going away party and everyone love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preston Moore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

All about Paprika

See the many types and uses of paprika.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States