Waldorf Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good! Although I omitted the juices, added walnuts and substituted grapes for the raisins. I was surprised that the flavor of the celery didn't stand out in this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just finished making this wonderful salad for the first time. I'm wondering if the complaints on the volume of dressing have to do with how you interpret "2 cups whipping cream"? Is that before or after whipping? Or are people substituting Cool Whip? I used 1 cup of whipping cream, which was probably more than 2 cups after whipping. (If you started with 2 cups of whipping cream, it would be a mountain!) I did cut back the mayo to 1/2 c, as I prefer a sweeter dressing. This seems to be the perfect amount of dressing for me. I also substituted craisins for the golden raisins, and threw in a handful of pecans. Can't wait to serve this at Thanksgiving dinner today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe. I very much agree that the dressing was way too much. Cuttin the mayo in half was great. I added dried cherries and red grapes and it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
A delicious recipe! I brought it to a buffet and it was gone in minutes. I did make a few changes... Greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise ... and I love a Waldorf salad with walnuts in it. The lemon and orange juice were wonderful additions! All around, a yummy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was a decent base recipe. I cut the mayo in half and doubled the whipped cream. I added more sugar than was called for. I halved the celery and doubled the raisins. I also added pecans. My way made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this for my family last Easter, everyone loved it so much! They have asked for me to make it on Mother's day. I do Agree the cut the sauce in half add some cran-raisin and to add 1 pound of wallnuts!! Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Whatever you do, DO NOT use as much dressing as this recipe calls for. I added the apples, raisins and celery to the mayo/whipped cream mixture and, after mixing, you couldn't even tell there were in the bowl. I ended up dumping half of it into a colander and washing off the dressing and then returning the washed off portion to the bowl. Otherwise, it wouldn't have been a salad; it would've been a soup. You could easily get away with 1 cup mayo and 1 cup whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Good flavor - I took the advise of other reviewers and made 1/2 the sauce. I used enough to coat the salad well and UNfortunately threw the left over out. The salad does absorb some of the dressing, so I wish I had kept it and RE-coated before serving, as I had made the salad up several hours in advance. I will make it again and Keep the left over sauce, just in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Okay this is the first time ever making Waldorf Salad, unfortunately I didn't read before I made it.. I too took out half and washed it off then added more whipped cream and I also added more lemon and a few dashes of nutmeg.. mmm mm it is good! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Yummy, but made too much dressing. I used cool whip and did not add any sugar so it was not too sweet. Will make again with less dressing (or more apples!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States