Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I looked at several Waldorf salad recipes before I settled on this one, based on other reviews. I wanted to find a recipe I could throw all that leftover Thanksgiving turkey into! It's very good, I added a little more lemon juice to counter the sugar sweetness (a good idea is to chop the apples first and then drench them in the lemon juice to keep them from browning!), and where folks had either grapes or raisins, I used Craisins (sweetened dried cranberries) to complete the whole leftover turkey-with-cranberries, apples and celery experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I took the advice of other reviewers and tossed the diced apples in the lemon juice first in the bowl and I needed to add more to coat them. I used Miracle Whip Light instead of Mayo and it was delicious, though I needed more than called for of this too, basically just put in enough to coat everything. Sunmaid makes a bag of raisens called "mixed raisens", they are huge and extremely plump and moist and were simply perfect for this salad. I also added diced chicken to make this a dinner salad and I served it on sandwhich croissants. It was a huge hit with my guests, everyone just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This is a perfect traditional waldorf salad recipe. Very good on its own, but I was trying to recreate a salad they have at a deli near my house "tropical waldorf salad" so I started with this as a base and added mandarin oranges, a little pineapple, cranberries and some coconut and it came out perfect. Great either way! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
A very good Waldorf salad recipe. I didn't peel the apples, I toasted the walnuts, and instead of raisins, I used 1/2 cup dried cranberries. I added the walnuts just before serving so they would stay crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This is good, a solid 4 stars, but it could be better. First, there is too much dressing. The apples and walnuts kind of swim in it. I'd decrease the mayo to about 1/3 cup, and add an extra apple. The amount of walnuts is fine, but make sure they're chopped very small or they taste a little bitter. The celery is a fabulous addition, adds great crunch, and the recipe could actually use just a little more than it calls for. The raisins I'm undecided on. I didn't like them at first, but they're growing on me. With or without, this recipe is a good one. By tweaking it a little, and using very crisp apples, this is a five star recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I USE THIS WHEN I CATER BUT I ALSO ADD SOME FROZEN OJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I omitted the celery, kept all the other ingredients the same. I used both red delicious and golden delicious apples; also used both golden and dark raisins; this made for a more colorful salad. Excellent recipe, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
I added the chicken breast and also added some red grapes. I served it over chopped romaine lettuce and made a meal of it. I took it on a picnic to the zoo (I put the lettuce and salad in separate large ziplock bags to conserve space in the cooler), and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I have been searching for a GREAT Waldorf Salad recipe and I FOUND IT! I did omit the celery and reduce the mayo to 1/4 cup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
So simple. So refreshing. We can't do nuts because of allergies, but it's great without. I usually toss the apples in the lemon juice instead of putting it in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States