Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I also agree this is a fantastic salad!!! I changed just a little as our family like things a little sweeter, I added a little more sugar, about a 1/3 cup of sour cream and a little nutmeg, omitted the raisins and added craisins! Most Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Eh. Nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. Classic Waldorf Salad ... perfect! Tripling the recipe, I used three Granny Smith apples, three Galas, and three red-skinned heirloom apples (wish I could remember the variety) from the farmers market. Don't peel the apples (and resist the temptation to use barbarisms like cool-whip. yogurt, salad dressing or *gasp* marshmallows!). I thought the proportions were perfect -- not too dry and not too goopy/runny, by the way Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I love Waldorf Salad, but I used Miracle Whip here, and left out both the sugar and salt, opted for large pieces of walnut and celery, and added seedless black grapes. I also put the lemon juice in the bowl first, to coat the apples as I cut them into chunks. I don't want them to brown while I'm preparing the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a great, basic Waldorf Salad recipe. I must have been confusing this with another recipe and I bought red and green grapes to put in this. Well, when I realized my error, I put them in anyway instead of the raisins. I toasted my walnuts (350 for 8-10 minutes, or until fragrant) to enhance their flavor. The dressing for this is just right, not too sweet and not too lemony. We enjoyed this one very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this the first time for a party. How risky. Used all the ingrediants listed. Made sure the apples were freshly picked. For the raisins I used two kids of raisins, and several flavors of dried cranberries. Because I made this for a very large crowd I upped it by 4xs. With the Mayo I used enough that it just covered the ingredients. The result of all the mixed flavors was amazing. Different flavors were popping all over the place. This is a very easy recipe that even the most inexperienced cook can make. (I choose not to use any chicken.) Because of the fruit this tasted sweet. There are a lot of coolwhip recipes like this, but using the mayo was much better that coolwhip kinds of recipes. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARREFLYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Quick and easy! I added pepper to kick it up a notch. Pretty tasty, but it was still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madnsavsmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This salad is delicious! I serve it with spinach lasagna! I do not put sugar in the dressing, Fuji apples and raisins make it pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this for a ladies lunch and it was a hit. I added baked chicken, subbed red grapes for the raisins, and also used lemon juice to keep the apples from turning brown. Very good.. will make again! OH I forgot... I serve on croissants and the butter flavor added was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Excellent! followed recipe and added Crasins(dried cranberries) too. Made sandwiches with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States