Waldorf Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This is a lovely refreshing salad! It is such an enjoyable first course. My husband thought it strange to have an apple salad but now he's a convert... I used Jonagold apples which is a lovely crisp but mellow tasting variety. The dressing was perfect. Celery, raisins and walnuts complement it very well. Thanks for such a delicious recipe! The only thing I did differently was to leave the apple skins on. Why peel off the most attractive part?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Good traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this as a side dish for Easter. quadrupled the recipe. It was very good, a light side compared to the other heavy dishes. I did not put raisins in mine, it was absolutely delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this exactly as stated and really enjoyed it. The idea of the mayonnaise base was a wee bit off putting. At the first bite the overwhelming smell of mayo made me cringe, but after the first bite I was very well pleased. Next time I make this I will make a few additions. I will toast the walnuts briefly, add some cuties (tangelos) and add a dash of salt. I think the addition of some citrus will really perk this up and give it a more complex flavor. However, this is a great starter recipe and is very good on its own. Thanks Penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Doubled the recipe for a party. It turned out wonderful. I didn't have any walnuts so I used choped pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. I would not change a thing. I have been looking for a good Waldorf Salad recipe. I mixed the mayo, lemon juice and sugar and added the apples first to coat and then added all other ingredients and mixed well. The apples have not turned in 3 days. Will definitely make again. Cheryl Rosso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We really liked this! It tasted pretty strongly of mayonnaise, though I know that's some of the charm. The only thing I would add to make this taste just like the recipe handed down in my family is sliced grapes. I really wish I'd remembered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just the recipe I've been looking for. Slightly sweet mayo. Great traditional salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
We really enjoyed this salad for Thanksgiving. I did substitute dried cranberries for the raisins, as we like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used finely chopped cranberries in place of raisins...very nice...next time i will chop my apples smaller for uniformity..family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB

Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States