Waldorf Astoria Red Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The cake sunk in, reasons found: ingredients should be at room temp and do not grease sides of pans so cake while baking doesn't pull away. Lastly, too much baking soda. These steps I find are vital and should be written in with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carver, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Simply divine. Awesome flavor. However we only used 1 oz of food coloring, we thought 2 ozs was over kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I can help here. My mother got the recipie for this cake from the chef at the Astoria and paid 250 dollars for it many years ago. Then they shared the recipie out because he charged so much for it! In the original I have, there are these differences...Use 2 1/2 cups cake flour, 1 tsp salt, 2tsp cocoa, 1 tsp white vinegar and in the frosting only 3 TBS of flour....it will make a huge difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This cake is THE BEST!!!!! The frosting is what is the difference between it and the others! Only make this cake when you are taking it where others will eat it, or you will find out that you CAN eat the WHOLE cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I have a copy of a Waldorf Astoria's recipe for Red Velvet cake and I've made it often (just last week was the lates) Do yourself a favor sub the shortening with canola oil. You'll be amazed at the difference in moistness. In a bind (if you don't have buttermilk) add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar to enough milk to make one cup and let sit atleast 5 minutes. Although many Southerners would faint, switch to a cream cheese frosting. The tang of the cream cheese frosting complements this cake very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe didn't work for me at all. I think it was more my fault than the recipe, but I'll probably keep looking for a recipe that works better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Wonderful recipe!!! I followed directions exactly, except I used green food coloring instead of red so I can take to our St Patrick's Party tomorrow. Also for fun I put a few drop of the green food colorin in a sandwich bag with about 1/2 cup of sugar, and used that to garnish the top. Beautiful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this for valentines day and the cake was amazing! The only bad thing was that I made it into cupcakes, which turned out pretty bad. They tasted great but crumbled and fell apart and they were so messy when people tried to unwrap them! The icing was weird by itself but tasted perfect when paired with the cake. This recipe is best done as a cake and not cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnet6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I could probably given this all 5 stars, except... I poured the batter evenly into two 8-inch cake pans and while baking, it completely overflowed both pans lending that oh-so-lovely acrid, burnt, smokey smell to our home on what was supposed to be a romantic Valentine's Day dinner. I searched all the previous reviews, and evidently I am the only baker to have had this experience. (Lucky me!) So now, I hope to find my original recipe file box and see what might be different. Otherwise my children have loved this cake for all occasions, and I did discover that once the butter & sugar (I always used granulated) were creamed, adding in the cooled milk/flour mixture and using the whip attachment made the frosting seem almost like fantastical whipped cream! If anyone can respond to the pan size conundrum, I would appreciate it! = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobs1joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This cake is divine. It is not "sweet" and the frosting is the best part. I agree with everyone else that says creams cheese frosting absolutely ruins this cake. This is not an easy cake though. I make this for my son's birthday, who will be 30 this year and still to this day, sometimes it turns out wonderful and sometimes I am throwing it away and starting over. I have not ever had a problem using the tablespoon portions of cocoa and vinegar. The cake still turns out a deep rich red with just a slight hint of chocolate. It is beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States