Waldorf Astoria Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe because it includes my preferred sugar to fat ratio for frosting. I use Adam's Best vanilla extract. We love this type of frosting as does everyone we serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is a very sweet simple buttercream, although the previous reviewers are right about using butter instead of shortening (it tastes much better). I just can't get past that "raw" powdered sugar taste. I found a way to remove that taste, from a recipe on the Taste of Home website. Add 1/4 cup powdered coffee creamer to the traditional 1 cup butter+4 cups powdered sugar+1 tsp vanilla +about 4 Tbsp milk buttercream recipe. I know other people who dislike that taste will love frostings made with dry nondairy creamer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I think that I may have used almond extract instead of butter flavoring...but the frosting turned out perfect for our friend and cousin's 50th Birthday "wedding cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Turned out great for my cupcakes. I used real vanilla since I didn't have the imitation stuff, but it still turned out pretty white. Just be sure to add the milk a little at a time. Confectioner's sugar doesn't take much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Excellent white frosting, tho' I did modify it a bit to suit my taste and needs. What's most important about this recipe is the shortening to powdered sugar ratio, which is 1 cup of shortening to roughly 4 c. of powdered sugar, and in my view it's perfect. Since I tinted my frosting and didn't need it to be pure white I was able to use pure vanilla rather than the clear imitation vanilla (which certainly has its place). I also didn't add the butter flavoring, preferring just the vanilla flavor. As I do with all frostings calling for shortening, I used hi-ratio shortening, which can be found in cake supply stores or ordered online. As for the milk, don't add it all at once! You may not need it all! I dribbled it in, little by little, and probably used about half the amount called for. This was perfect with "Aunt Bert's White Cake," also from this site, but would be suitable for just about any flavor cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Great Frosting for wedding cakes. I read all the other comments and for those who had trouble with seperation. The higher the humidity in the air the more likely frosting will be to seperate. Best prepared in lower humidity conditions. Rainy days are the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Chancey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Bartow, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I did not care for this. Tastes like you are just eating shortening (with a little powdered sugar) right from the can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I love this recipe! I added 8oz. of Cream cheese and used heavy whipped cream instead of milk. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I must rate this one with only 1 star. I really enjoyed the buttery taste but I had the same problem as other reviewers. The frosting was to loose and separated. I think more detailed instructions are needed so that we know to add milk gradually since less is apparently needed. I may try adding some things to improve this. But I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lai'Anna Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I found that I had to use WAY more powdered sugar to get this to a desirable consistency! Other than that ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa Miller-Schweder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Port, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States