Wake-Up Casserole - Canadian Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Thanks so much for this Steve!! I totally appreciate the healthy version you offer up here. I followed the recipe mostly, only substituting cooked turkey sausage patties from Sam's Club dotcom crumbled up and scattered across the casserole. It is cooling on the counter and awaiting cutting and wrapping for freezer storage. It smells AMAZING!! I have high hopes it reheats beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was a nice easy breakfast casserole; I liked the ease of using frozen hash brown patties. I used real eggs, so I added bell peppers, onions, green chilis, and tomatoes to my eggs (8). This took a bit longer to bake for me. Our guests all enjoyed it and I liked that it was easy to throw together (in a camper, even!). THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Substituted tater tots & diced ham. Delish! Took to church luncheon & everyone wanted recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was great! I added crumbled bacon to the top the last 15 mins. However, I will cut out the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Sorry, we did not like this so much. My husband and I thought there was too much of a potato base to it, maybe if I had crisped the hash browns before assembling it would have been better. Thank you for the recipe, I love to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I make this casserole every week for my breakfast to take to work. I just throw in whatever I happen to have on hand. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made this recipe with some minor variation a few times now due to limited options at the grocery store, and each time comes out magnificent. I've used fresh green and red bell peppers, tomatoes, and jalapeno peppers when I could only find eggs, but was able to get the southwest Egg Beaters on one visit. Each time I made this, I've used more egg or Egg Beaters than recipe calls for, as much as a dozen large whole eggs or a large carton of Egg Beaters. I've tried with mexican mix, cheddar, and lowfat (2%) cheeses as well. I've also used more hashbrowns than called, because we didn't have hashbrown patties at the store that visit. Two of the times I made this, I used the whole bag of Ore Ida Crowns which are like mini tots. Although I find myself having to cook longer due to my variations, all attempts have turned out delicious and a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Everyone loved this casserole, and we aren't really casserole people! Made it for after Christmas morning and had to make it again this snowy morning. I used one roll of crumbled Jimmy Dean Sage sausage instead of Canadian bacon. Also used less cheese (cheddar only) - just enough to create a layer, which was probably about 2.5 cups. One Egg Beater package was a bit short of 1 3/4 cups so I added one egg as well. Served with green onion, cilantro, and sour cream on the side. Delicious! Cooking time was right on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made this morning for our post early-Christmas celebration breakfast. Hubby and daughter loved it and had 2nds and 3rds. Made exactly as recipe says......perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I really loved this recipe! I actually used the southwest egg beaters and after the cheese, I topped it with green onions chopped and cilantro like the other review suggested. My friends LOVED this recipe! The entire dish was devoured in under and hour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States