Waistline-Friendly Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was fantastic! Based on other reviews, I did slightly reduce the spice and sweetness. I used mild salsa and 2/3 of a cup of Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. The flavor was fantastic and the spice was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I really loved this, but next time I'm going to change a few things. A whole cup of BBQ sauce was a bit much...the flavor overwhelmed everything else. Of course I only simmered for an hour, not 3. I would also next time use mild sauce instead of medium just because I'm kind of a lightweight when it comes to spicy. Since you use a whole cup of that too, it made things about too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This recipe is sweet because of the barbecue sauce. Check the label for the corn syrup. Sugar is addictive and in almost everything that is prepared for you, not to mention all those icky preservatives. Instead you could add chipotle peppers in adobo sauce to get the heat and smokiness. Found in probably most grocery stores in the Mexican food section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This chili was flavorful and easy to make. I cut the red pepper flakes to 1/2 of a tablespoon instead of the tablespoon that was called for and I'd say it was "medium hot". I also used Sweet Baby Ray Honey BBQ sauce and added a half teaspoon of chipotle chili powder since I didn't have chipotle BBQ sauce, and omitted the cilantro since I didn't have that as well. I simmered it covered for two and a half hours and it was just the right consistency for me. Not soupy at all but nice and thick. I also made the recipe from this site for Golden Sweet Cornbread to go with it and it was very good tool. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've been making this recipe for the past year or so and it always comes out different but great. When I have any veggies in my fridge that are about to go bad I'll just make this chili and add them to the recipe. I've been doing the South Beach diet on and off for the past 6 months and this recipe is great because you can make it with basically no carbs. I rarely use the lemon juice that the recipe calls for and it still tastes great to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was really yummy! I loved it. I made a few small changes. I used only 1 tsp crushed red pepper and 1 tsp chili powder. Also, I used a little bit more salt, and used some garlic salt. Also, I took Saveur631's advice and added 2 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar. It offset some of the sweetness of the BBQ. Also, I cooked this in a crock pot. Really good. Though, next time I think I might try half cup BBQ sauce instead of the full cup. Will definitely be making this over again! Thank you (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
We love all kinds of chili... and this one was great! Some different ingredients I would have never tried on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Really tasty! Although, I find it hard to believe that it is only 212 calories per serving. I couldn't find a chipotle BBQ sauce so I just used sweet baby rays and I think it was good, but next time I would probably just throw in a few chipotle peppers. I put about a half a Tablespoon of the red pepper instead of a full Tablespoon cause I thought it would just be overly spicy and I liked the end result. Don't get me wrong, I love spicy food I just don't like it when it over powers the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is by far the best chili I have ever eaten or made! I can't say enough wonderful things about it. After reading the reviews I understood it was a hotter chili so I used a mild salsa, a sweet and spicy barbecue, and edited back the red pepper flakes. The end result was a medium heat chili that is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This chili is SO delicious!! It was not that spicy to me; Then again, for me, the spicier the better. I even added hot sauce to it. I put 3/4 cup of BBQ sauce instead of 1 whole cup because people were saying it was a little sweet. Also, I added garbanzo beans which went perfectly with this recipe. Other than that I did everything exactly the same. I will be making this again and again in the future. My boyfriend loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstrizzz

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States