Waistline-Friendly Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Another fabulous dish found! Love cooking for the week on a cold windy day, this is going to be perfect for those raw days during the week! SPicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Sorry ... Way too sweet!!! - 1 CUP of BBQ sauce is a lot and really overwhelms the flavor of what would be decent otherwise. And although I like spicy ... I backed off the 1 T each of Chili powder AND Red Pepper flakes to half of that. I ended up dumping in second can of tomatoes in but it was still too sweet. Might have helped had it been noted what variety BBQ sauce was used. I would make it again but dramatically cut the BBQ or instead add that smokey/chipotle flavor another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I omitted corn and cumin as I did not have on hand. Added can of spicy chili beans. Simmered for an hour. Best chili ever! So easy. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I love the concept of this chili, but didn't follow it completely. I omitted the bell peppers and corn, and in place of Chipotle bbq sauce, I used orginal Head Country sauce and added about 4 whole chopped chopped Chipotle peppers. I love spicy chili so I used 2 7oz cans of green chilies and a cup of habanero salsa. I also added a can of pinto beans along with the black beans. The flavor is unique, but wonderful. A great combination of smokey and spicy. I will be adding this to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
It was incredibly delicious!! I could only find honey chipotle BBQ sauce so it made it a little sweeter but was nicely balanced with the chilies and pepper - I went a little less on those and it was spicy enough for me. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Phew, this was really HOT! I even cut back some of the heat using only 2 pinches of red pepper flakes, a mild bbq sauce, and left out the green chilis! I liked how thick it was and all the pretty colors. I did reduce the salt some and added about a cup of water due to the lack of liquid. I just couldnt get past the odd tart bite and heat. I would re-consider the amount of lime juice and acidity of bbq sauce used. I have a heat lover, in the house, so hopefully the rest will be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site. A great hearty meal that is perfect for a cold night. I followed the directions exactly and the chili comes out nice and spicy, just the way I like it. I served the chili over a baked potato and added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese. My family couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
My daughter and I made this chili for the second time in two weeks. This chili has amazing flavors. I love the chipotle barbecue sauce! We did not add the corn and we used chopped fresh tomatoes and thought it a little too spicy the first time so left out the red pepper flakes. Still had plenty of kick! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe is very good. HOWEVER the chipotle bbq sauce gives it a tangy/sweet flavor like you would expect in a Brunswick Stew. If you dont like the sweet factor in your chili (My husband does not) I made the other half useing Herdez (or other Hispanic brand) Chipotle Salsa Mild.. gives you all the smokey flvor but no sweet! :) Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
LOVE this recipe! But yes, as others have said, it is extremely spicy. I only use about 1/4 can of chillies, MILD salsa, and just a pinch of red pepper flakes and chilli powder. I also use half a can of black beans and half a can of red kidney beans. I usually make a double recipe in the crock pot and then freeze some. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States