Wainachsrollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Had to wait 40 years for secret family recipe. Learns nothing, and shares with world. You rock! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These are wonderful and not too sweet which is just how I like it. The lard makes them kind of high in the calorie department though, so if you're counting calories, limit yourself to about one cookie a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is such a fabulous recipe. The cookies are ridiculously addictive. I make them every Christmas. And I have to stop myself from eating them because I give them as gifts. But I don't tell people about the lard, for some reason, that turns them off. Whatever, heaven in your mouth I say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I've never tried anything like this before, so I will take others for their word as to the authenticity. All I can really say is that it's a large, somewhat flavorless, soft cookie. I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Almost like those windmill cookies you can buy in the store. However I still felt like it was missing a little something? I think it maybe a bit of salt, because these are not very sweet. Maybe a touch of salt would make the sweetness pop out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These were your traditional german cookie. I did increase the cinnamon. makes a large batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Thank you!! These taste almost exactly like my Grandma Wagner's cookies. I know she used lard. My cookbook from her calls them "Weihnachtstrollen"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I just wanted to take another stab at the actual name of these cookies...Weihnachtsrollen might be a possibility (christmas 'rolls'). Weihnachtsstollen is a common Christmas bread, also, but I have never seen it in the form of a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Sorry I gave these such a bad review. I ate these fresh from the oven, and it was a big mistake. After setting these are a very good cookie. I make them most years for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
Bless you for submitting this recipe. My aunt willed me her 100 yr. old German cookie mold but took her recipe to the grave. I think this is very close to the cookies I remember eating as a child. I loved them! It worked out quite well with the hand carved mold as long as the dough was kept cold. A little additional flour improved the detail of the mold designs. I never knew the name of the cookie until now, but believe the spelling would be Weinachstollen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States