Waikiki Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I don't want to rate this recipe since it is not original. It is in my Betty Crocker Cookbook (circa 1974). But I do want to thank you for sharing it. My family liked this a lot. But many years ago, I spilled on that page. As a result, I now have 2 pages stuck together and can no longer read it. Once again I can treat my family to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Accidentally used cinnamon sugar instead of brown sugar. Turned this dish up about eight notches. Also used ground chicken instead of beef. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Campo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Excellent recipe, I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
this recipe was excellent i used ritz crackers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was absolutely fabulous! Nice tender meatballs in a sweet and savory sauce. My son just loved it! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I was in a hurry to cook this in less than 3 hours, and I did, and it was great! It will be even better day 2. I modified the recipe by using 1/2 ground beef & 1/2 pork (this saves us $$). I baked the meatballs at 350-degrees for 1/2 hour. I did a quick dump of all the other ingredients into a crock pot and let it cook for 3 hours. I did boil the green peppers quickly so as to soften them up a bit (again, I was in a hurry) and added them and the meatballs on top in crock pot, stirring every so often. Three hours later (during the football game) served it with rice and everyone enjoyed. Day 2 I am adding in a bunch of chopped, dried chili peppers to add some "hot" to it, and the color will be great too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Pretty good..left out the ginger and doubled the sauce. Next time will probably use less sugar but triple the sauce. I also added red and green bell peppers with onions. All in all I will make again. Its also good with added pepper flakes .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I've been making this recipe for over 30 years. Well, I don't do a lot differently after all these years, but I do add water chestnuts to the veggiesand a heaping tablespoon of garlic-chili paste to the sauce for a little "kick." I recommend that, honestly, it's a great addition and doesn't majorly interfere with the "intended" effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
With the recipe followed as written, it's delicious! However, baking the meatballs instead of frying them is easier - the grease self-drains and I don't have to worry about squishing/breaking my meatballs while turning them. (20 minutes @ 350 degrees)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was not a good recipe. The meatballs turned out mushy. I LOVE the idea of meatballs in a sweet teriyaki-like sauce but this is not the one you want. The ginger and milk just ruined any chance of good flavor. I should have know better. Next time I will make my own meatball recipe and put them in a different sauce as this recipe didn't make nearly enough sauce. Just very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States