Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
My whole family loves this bread. Even my picky daughter - and she doens't like ANYTHING! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My husband and I LOVE this cornbread! I have been making the cheapie jiffy cornbread for years, and decided to try something different when having guests over. I think we gobbled up the entire pan! If you are looking for a dense cornbread, similar to the box kind, this is not for you! This recipe is for a very sweet light bread, and I often serve it on a plate with a fork, like a cake. It also makes a HUGE 9x13 pan, so it's great for groups. (or families!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is the only cornbread I will make from now on! My husband doesn't usually like cornbread because many times it's too dry and crumbly. After tasting this recipe he said, "Don't lose this recipe! I love it!" I like that the cornbread is sweet enough that you don't really need to spread butter on it, but still good if you do. Yes, it is still crumbly, but the soft cakey crumbs are easy to scoop up and eat! The only downside to this recipe is that I found it didn't taste as good the second day - not sure why. But it didn't last long in our house anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Wonderful. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRSTLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Just because you put cornmeal in the batter does not make it cornbread. More like a sweet cake or breakfast cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Extremely crumbly. Very sweet and soft cornbread, probably best for using over a stew or chili, as others had already said. My guests would go to put butter on and the cornbread would just collapse in their fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Since I'm from TX and we don't normally make our cornbread to taste like cake....I have to try this one. We eat cake if we want some sweet bread. One of the things I remember about my dad (and so do the children who are old enough to remember him, he passed away 30 years ago)is every night before he put anything on his plate he crumbled his cornbread in his glass of milk to eat as a finishing touch to his meal. Don't see folks doing that anymore. :( So right now I won't rate this recipe as good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I made this fantastic moist, fluffy and sweet recipe last night for 3 people. We had 1/2 the pan left over. When I woke up this morning I planned on having a piece with breakfast, but there was none left. :( I will make this often!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeffrey
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Very good! Really makes alot. Served with Flatlander Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This cornbread is awesome! I followed the recipe precisely (used salted butter not margarine) and 1/2 percent milk. It came out great! Very cake like and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States