Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
My husband likes this cornbread so well it's all he ever wants now. It does crumble easily though. I always let it cool down before serving which seems to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Here are the changes I made on this recipe to make it lower in fat & calories (there was no way I could bring myself to use a cup of butter! Yikes!)As another suggested I reduced the baking mix (reduced fat) to 2 1/4 C. and incr. the cornmeal to 1 cup. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 c,substituted Egg Beaters for one of the 3 eggs, and used 1/4 c. melted butter & 1/2 c. Lite sourcream. They were very moist! To make 18 muffins fill "Pam" sprayed cups with 1/4 c. of batter and bake for 18-20 min. These were fantastic fresh out of the oven, and I'm anxious to see if they're even better tomorrow with my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Very tasty! my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This is a great recipe. I used Hungry Jack buttermilk pancake mix. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Excellent recipe - my family couldn not stop raving about this cornbread. Instead of "buttermilk baking mix", I used "buttermilk biscuit mix" - which is probably the same thing. I also used margarine instead of butter (because I had it on hand), and the cooking time was almost 1 hour! (And I have a convection oven) - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I was very skeptical about the pancake mix in this. But I had all the ingredients on hand and decided to try it...I'm glad I did! Absolutely delicious, great texture, no "chalkiness" like you can get sometimes with cornbread. Nice and sweet, but not too sweet. I guess the pancake mix is the secret! Thank you for sharing the recipe Shelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I had to come back and give this recipe a WOW.. I made this to go with a batch of New Year's style black eyed peas and my family gobbled it up with rave reviews. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it came out phenomenal. This will be my cornbread recipe from now on. If you like a more "corny" cornbread I would swap some cornmeal for some of the bisquick mix, but this is a GREAT recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This is one of the best cornbread recipies that I have found. It is very moist and my family likes it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Wonderful and just what I was looking for. I used Martha White self-rising buttermilk cornmeal mix instead of buttermilk mix and left out the baking powder. I will be making this quite often since we like the "SWEET" cornbread. I also didn't grease the pan and only used pam and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States