Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Best. Cornbread. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Although on the sweeter side, this was pretty good! I'm still a sucker for bluegirl's golden sweet cornbread (it's THE best!), but this was decent nonetheless. I agree with everyone who cut back on the sugar. I only used 3/4 c. and thought I could have used even less. In addition to cutting back on the sugar, I also agree that adding cirn (canned, frozen or fresh) is an absolute must. I added a cup's worth of frozen corn to my cornbread and am glad I did. My only problem with this (other than calling for too much sugar) is that my bread was so crumbly, I had to eat it with a fork! I wish I would have followed EKERR19's advice. She suggests allowing your baked cornbread to rest for 10 minutes, slicing it and then allowing it to rest ANOTHER 8-10 minutes prior to serving. My soup was ready to dish up so I served mine immediately, but I am curious to know if her advice holds true. Mishap aside, this is a fine cornbread but certainly not one of my favorites. Thanks anyways, Shelly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I've made it several times and absolutely love it! its my "Go To" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanelle Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Dangerously Delicious! Cut the recipe down to 5 servings and baked in 8" square pan without any recipe changes for 25 minutes. All the reviews are right - this is sooo good that it's difficult to stop picking at it. I had mixed the Heart Smart Bisquick with regular and that didn't seem to affect the taste. Also, melted the butter in the pan while oven was preheating and that was perfect way to prepare the pan. Try this - you're going to love it. I'm giving out the recipe with the exact amount of cornmeal in a plastic bag to encourage people to try it - they might not want to buy a whole bag of cornmeal until they know how good this is and they're sure to have all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and every time I make it for company, they want the recipe. I couldn't find the buttermilk baking mix the first time I made it so I used regular Bisquick and used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Good, but wondering why the Waikiki in the name? I was expecting pineapple or some other type of fruit in it with that name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Loved! Very cake like and crumbly....but delicious! I made a couple changes....I used 2 1/2c of the baking mix and upped the cornmeal to 3/4c as did another reviewer. I also decreased the sugar to 3/4c and the butter to just 1/2c (1 stick)....thought 2 would be way too much. Worked out perfectly. A very tasty cornbread....just not as "corn-y" in texture like I am used to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Sweet cornbread at its finest. I made this using all of the ingredients listed, plus adding 1/4 cup of leftover corn. I baked in a 10 1/2" cast iron skillet and it baked perfectly, golden brown all around. I did not have the dried out, crumbling problems other bakers appeared to have. It served up nicely in pie cut pieces and was a nice addition to 'Boilermaker Tailgate Chili', another AR recipe. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States