Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My family thinks this is the best cornbread ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was delicious, and very easy to make. It was very crumbly though, and difficult to serve nicely. I made it twice-once I added some frozen cooked corn, which made it more intesting. Worth making, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paul
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this cornbread and loved it! However, I did bake it in a pre-heated cast iron skillet that browned it on the bottom edge- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this to go with Dad's Cheesy Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf when I realized at the last minute I didn't have any potatoes. I used a homemade whole wheat white baking mix that I make myself and upped the baking soda to a full tablespoon. I also used buttermilk and organic eggs. This is a really sweet cornbread for those who like a real bread-y cornbread with a hint of corn. My men enjoyed it and the little bit I had I loved. This was a great recipe for my littlest and I to make together, too. My only issue was how fall-apart-y it was. Anyone else have that issue? You take a bite and the whole piece would fall to pieces in your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I don't really approve of others customizing someone's recipe, we should just write our own but I'm excusing my own rule here. The recipe sounded great but in the midst of it, I added twice the cornmeal (white), vanilla and added a couple of tablespoons of the powdered buttermilk baking mix by Sago into the milk. Served with my 15 bean soup and a dash of Habanero sauce.It was wonderful. Kudos to the author of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reno1195

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Still on the search for the perfect cornbread. Way too crumbly and blah for my family. Not worth a whole c of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cass Lewandowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was good, and my husband loved it. However, I prefer "cornier" cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is not "cornbread" in the traditional sense, but it is outstanding. Cornbread is normally quite nutritious, but this is more like yellow cake (there's only a 1/4 cup cornmeal in the entire recipe). I will make this again for a delicious change of pace, but not too often because I felt so guilty eating/serving it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was definitely very yummy! Although, my husband and I were looking more for the "crunchy" cornbread texture. This was more like a cake mix. Next time I'll add more cornmeal to it. If you put a little whipped cream and strawberries on top, it could be used as a good dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious, easy, and a fun alternative to the crumbly version. I halved the recipe and it fit perfectly into an 8x8 pan. I also added a small can of sweet corn to the mix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States