Waikiki Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This cornbread was good but differs from traditional Southern cornbread. Based on reviews, deviated from recipe with aim toward a less sweet, more corn flavored bread. In spite of decreasing the Bisquick mix to 2-1/2 cups, increasing the yellow cornmeal to 3/4 cup, and cutting sugar to 3/4 cups, the cornbread was still sweat and tasted more like cake than bread. While my bread held together okay, it wouldn’t take much for it to be crumbly as many others have mentioned. Once again, I’ll be back searching for a more compatible cornbread more aligned to what we ate when growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My guy was upset when he found out I wasn't making extra sweet Jiffy cornbread. He actually pitched a pretty good fit, but after he took the first bite of this recipe, all he good do was tell me how good it is and it is the best cornbread that he has ever had!! I did follow another reviewers suggestion and cut the baking mix down to 2.5 cups and increased the cornmeal up to 3/4 cup. I also decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup. My only complaint is that this cornbread is very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I did not have Buttermilk Baking mix, so I made my own "Bisquick" mix. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Absolutely the best cornbread I have ever made! If you like your cornbread sweet, then this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Fabulous recipe. Super easy and great use of the buttermilk baking mix. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
It had a nice, sweet, taste, but it was impossible to eat. The bread literally fell (crumbled) apart before I could get it out of the pan. I saw where other people tweeked the recipe to avoid this, but I made the bread just as the original recipe stated. I may try it with the suggested revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is really delicious, and that's coming from someone who's hated cornbread his whole life. Tried this on a whim a long time ago and it was excellent. I always skip the baking powder as I don't usually have it around and forget to buy it (bachelor living). Doesn't really make a difference as far as I can tell. I also add some vanilla (a dash or two), seems to work well. Makes good corn muffins, too. They'll look a little too brown on the outside, but stay fluffy and delicious inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great sweet cornbread... easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I halved the recipe. A little too sweet for us, so I'd reduce the sugar next time. I also increased the amount of cornmeal and reduced the baking mix for a stronger corn flavour. These are quite crumbly, so I don't recommend adding anything in them (we added hot dogs and it got kinda messy to eat). We have had better, but this is good in a pinch and for less fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This cornbread is super delicious. Yes it is a little sweet, kind of tastes like a cornbread pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperDudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Oh my goodness! This was awesome. My 15 year old son liked it so much he said he wanted it instead of a cake on his bday! Only 2 changes... cut sugar to 3/4 and used 1/3 cup butter! Totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Waikiki Cornbread

Discover the trick to moist, sweet, and buttery cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States