Wagon Wheel Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Yum, this was delicious! I did make several additions -- used half a 16 oz. box of ditalini because it was what I had on hand, just 8 oz. of mayo (this was plenty, believe me!), probably didn't add a full cup of cheddar, and used 8 oz. of salsa (I assume that's what the recipe's author was shooting for? Picante just means "spicy" in Spanish.). Anyway, I just made this as a summer lunch for me while using up some stuff I had around the house. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This will be a salad that comes with me to every family party!!!! I never put in the green pepper and only used 1 cup of mayonnaise. I also added some chili seasoning and paprika instead of salt and pepper. I put in 1 and a half cups of the Picante Salsa. If there is any salad left the next day I would add the other half cup of salsa to give it up lift...... Everyone that had it said it was so so good and wanted the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this as a side at my daughter's second birthday party. It received rave reviews! Delicious and super easy! I did use the entire box of pasta, it would have been to "soupy" with just 3 cups of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyemmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton Square, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I took a chance and made this over Memorial Day weekend for a large group. It was a huge hit! I'm not a good measurer so eyeballed some of the ingredients like the may and the salsa. I think you have to taste test the mayo/salsa mixture. I also used black beans and shredded cheddar cheese and threw in some cilantro. The salsa was a green chile salsa with a nice amount of kick to it. I will definitely make this again, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I just made this tonight, but haven't tasted it yet, as I'm letting the flavors meld. I did make some changes though; shredded cheddar cheese instead of cubes, 2 diced plum tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, red onion in place of green ones, and I omitted the salt (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This had good flavor and I liked the variety of color to this salad. I added 1 seeded and diced cumcumber, substituted red onion for green onion and added a can of cannelini beans as well as the kidney beans. However, there was way too much mayo. Next time I will reduce the mayo by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
LOVE THIS. Made it the first time for a graduation party with a Mexican theme. Never tried it first...just took the dive based upon the ratings. A big hit. I followed the recipe exactly and have made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This was great. I used less mayo than it called for - about 1 and 1/2 to 1 and 1/3 cup as 2 cups seemed like a lot. I used spiral pasta and added a jalapeno for a bit more spice. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL recipe! I've made it twice now, once at Christmas and once for a wedding shower. The yield is very large so I would recommend cutting the ingredients (at least the pasta for sure) in half if you aren't planning to serve it to more than 15 people. I also wouldn't recommend skimping on the mayo to use a generic brand. It's a little more expensive to use a higher quality mayo but you can taste the difference! If you need to skimp on cost of ingredients I'd go with generic pasta, kidney beans, cheese and salsa. But this is a great salad and I've received so many complements. It's also easy to make it a day ahead of time and just keep it in the fridge until you're ready to serve! Or cook the pasta and cut up the ingredients and then throw everything together an hour or two before your event. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States