Wagon Train Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Daughter loved it. Husband said it was pretty good. I used 4 cups egg noodles and 1lb ground beef, did not measure cheese just added. I doubled all ingredients for the meat except the salt. I did not have seasoned breadcrumbs so I used Planko and added about 1tsp of Italian seasoning. Also used about 1tbs of garlic because we like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Meberg Ewald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great basic recipe to build on! The result was a tasty and quick kid-friendly dinner. I didn't have any spaghetti sauce on hand, but did add a can of Del Monte Zesty Chili Style Diced Tomatoes. I also added cumin, smoked paprika, added extra chopped garlic, onion, a little frozen corn and a can of kidney beans. I sauteed the onion and garlic in the pan before I added the meat mixture. Instead of mozzarella, I topped with a Mexican cheese mix. The dish has pretty mild seasoning - which was great for the little ones... my husband and I just added a little extra to ours at the table, which was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I used sausage instead of beef and it gave it great flavor. My picky 4 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
If you are looking for an easy, cheap, kid friendly meal this is it. It reminded me of the johnny marzetti that I used to eat at school as a child. I used half ground beef and half italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good! I used rotini pasta because I did not have wagon wheel shapes. I also did not have mozzarella cheese, so I added more parmesan instead. Still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My family loved this. I am putting together a collection of quick and easy recipes for when my daughter goes away to college--this will definitely be included. I used a whole pound of ground beef, and doubled the cheese and bread crumbs. I used 1-2 cloves of garlic. I left out the salt. I used an entire 24 oz jar of marinara pasta sauce. I also used small shells instead of wagon wheels, because that is what I could find. I used 4 cups uncooked pasta. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This dish was very good. I did find it to be a little salty though, I think I will be using less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very, very good. Made exactly as stated except I didn't measure the garlic, just minced one clove. Kinda tasted like spaghetti and meatballs but without all the prep work. Will definately make again, next time I may try with sausage or a mix of sausage and ground beef. UPDATE This has become part of my regular rotation. I make it whenever I want something quick and hearty or I'm craving spaghetti and meatballs but don't have time to make meatballs. I use sweet Italian sausage now or half ground beef and half sausage. Definately leave out the salt if you use sausage, you can always add salt later. I always double or triple the sauce and freeze some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is good, but if I made it again, I'd add more cheese and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schasel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Great recipe, even my picky 15 month old ate it. I used the new mini pasta wheels, and doubled the meat. Be careful while browning the meat as it will stick to the bottom of the pan and burn if you do not keep a close eye on it. Will become a regular in my house. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States