Waffles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I think this recipe is wonderful. I am a professional pastry chef and I have had a hard time finding a waffle that is versitle and can be tweeked to do what I want it to without someone screwing it up at the restaurant. I can add anything to this recipe and it still comes out wonderful. The best seller is when we add apple pie filling about 1/2 cup and 1 tbs. of cinnamon. Top with some more warm pie filling and homemade maple syrup! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerman_scebbi

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This is EXACTLY the recipe I was looking for when I bought my new waffle maker!!! Better than the restaurant I used to beg my hubby to take me to just so I could get a belgian waffle. I added 2tsp of vanilla, 2-3 TBS. of sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon and used 3/4 c milk and 3/4 c buttermilk. YUMMMMM. Perfect each time!! Family loves them too, but I'm the waffle freak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
The only recipe better than this is my Grandma's and that calls for butter and buttermilk which I didn't have on hand today, which is why I tried this. Very simple ingredients that produce a yummy waffle. I did add about 2-3 T sugar and about 2-3 t vanilla to sweeten it up a bit. I also added about 1 -1 1/2 cups frozen blueberries. My daughter and her friend loved them. This recipe does make more than 4 servings in my opinion. I got about 7 6 in round waffles out of it and they are very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
FINALLY!!! A waffle recipe worth hanging onto. These were wonderful. I made as directed, except used others recommendations and added 2 Tbsp. of sugar (don't like mine too sweet, especially since I'm using pure maple syrup on top), 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 2 tsp. vanilla. In place of the milk, I used 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 regular milk. They cooked up nice and light, not thick and chewy like the waffles I usually make. I was able to get approximately 7 - 7" waffles, plenty to freeze the extras. Thanks for a great recipe, Karen! (BTW, be sure to give your waffle maker a quick spray of oil before pouring each waffle).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I liked that this recipe omitted sugar. I'm one who usually omits sugar from waffles if I can get away with it. I followed the recipe exact. This recipe turned out a nice waffle, crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I'd make this again but I would up the salt a little and add a touch of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Easy basic recipe for waffles. I used 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Very good recipe but it needs sugar, a little more salt, vannilla, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I am pregnant and was craving chocolate chip waffles like you wouldn't believe. I have always been afraid to try my own waffle batter but I was out of my mix. I made with apple sauce instead of oil to make it healthier and it was still wonderful! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
After a recent disaster with a commercial pancake mix making waffles, I was determined to find a recipe that used beaten egg whites which was an ingredient I remembered from my childhood. This recipe was easy, both in preparation and ingredients. The waffles turned out great. Light & crisp. Worth the little extra effort to whip the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
After visiting my mom for Thanksgiving I brought her waffle iron home with me. This was the first recipe I tried and my husband and I were both pleased with it. Nice fluffy waffles. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States