Waffles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Wonderful! I only had one egg left this morning, so I halved the recipe. It was plenty for my two boys and me. I sprinkled mini-chocolate chips on theirs after cooking, and sprinkled pecans on top of mine (right on the batter in the waffle iron). We poured honey on top. I did not take the time to whip the egg white separately, with only one egg. I have another recipe which calls for whipping the whites, so I know how fluffy it makes the waffles. However, I thought this recipe still turned out nice and fluffy without the extra trouble. I made one change: In place of the milk amount, I used half milk and half plain whole-milk yogurt. I always keep it on hand and find it to be a great substitute for any recipes using buttermilk or sour cream. (I have a buttermilk pancake recipe I always use yogurt in, and I like the way it turns out.) The yogurt thickened up the batter a bit too much, so I poured just a bit more milk in before cooking. I'll be using this recipe from now on, as it's so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Perfect waffles! Light and fluffy...nothing needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Very good waffle recipe! I admit I usually use a box mix but have been looking for a simple recipe that I can change up on my own. This was it! We used 1/2 whole wheat flour and took some other suggestions using some vanilla, cinnamon, and a small amount of sugar. They were amazing! We will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This are wonderful I keep forgetting to snap a picture every time I make them. I've made then without whipping the whites and just adding the eggs and I've made them with the whites whipped. Both are delicious but with the whites whipped they are so much fluffier. I've started freezing them then just popping them in the toaster when rushed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I was excited to make these waffles after all the great reviews, but they really were bland. They may have been big and poofy but even after adding cinnamon, sugar, vanilla, and even a dash of nutmeg I felt that they weren't as yummy as they could have been. Maybe it was my waffle maker. I bet this would be a better recipe for thin waffles instead of thick Belgian style ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
i made this for my family any everyone said they where the best waffles they had ever tasted including my 3 year old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was very easy, easier than my usual waffle recipe. But it was lacking a bit in texture I am used to. I added some vanilla extract and sugar. Good for a quick recipe. I will make when I am in a hurry, but prefer my usual recipe if I have time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I'm giving this only 3 stars because if you don't add anything to the batter to sweeten it up, or give it flavor, they are very bland. I made them w/choc chips for the kids, but ran out, so I had the plain one that was left. That being said, I think these have to be the lightest and fluffiest waffles I've ever had!! Adding the beaten egg whites really makes a big difference than ordinary waffles. Worth the extra effort. Take the advice of others and add either some sugar, frozen fruit, choc chips, or just some vanilla extract to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We double the recipe (adding the sugar and vanilla others recommended) and our family eats them all up within two days. Light and yummy, the best of MANY recipes we've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Really good waffle recipe! Really easy, really yummy and sugarless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Fresz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States