Waffles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The best waffle recipe I've ever had!! We've had these twice, and followed the recipe exactly the first time. Today, we made the following changes and they were even better!: 1 less tsp. baking powder (taste was too strong with the full amount), and ADDED 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. sugar to the mixture at the end (before the egg whites are brought in). We cook them in our rotating waffle maker (Bella Cucina, got it at Macy's) because it makes THE lightest, crispiest waffles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These were pretty good waffles. I made some changes per other reviewers. I added 1 cup of regular milk and ½ cup of buttermilk. I also added some vanilla and about a tablespoon or so of white sugar. They came out fluffy with a really great flavor and are a keeper for me although they need a little extra love. Defiantly give them a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTisa Carrington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
What a great recipe - so glad I gave this a try. I helped make waffles when I was a kid, but in the decades since, I've had nothing but store-bought frozen waffles. Even though I got a second-hand waffle iron a couple of years ago, I hesitated to use it until now. This was so easy and it was exciting to finally make waffles from scratch. I made it exactly as written; the flour I used was unbleached, and the salt was sea salt - the only kinds I had on hand. I had a little trouble with beating the egg whites "until soft peaks form". I was using a fork, and don't think I quite achieved it, but I'm sure a hand blender would work much better for this. My waffle iron has nice non-stick plates, so after one waffle, I realized I could skip spraying them with non-stick cooking spray. This made 6 big waffles for me, and they froze well so I could have a waffle almost every morning for a week. I can't say that these are the best waffles ever - I'm not a waffle connoisseur - but I'll make these again and again, and I'll give this recipe 4 stars. (I usually read all prior reviews before posting my own, but I'm skipping the 235 prior reviews here.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I add a tsp of vanilla and 2 tbs of sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Nothing too special about this recipe. Very basic and easy to follow. Waffles turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Our family felt the waffles tasted too much like pancake mix and was too heavy. Sorry but will have to go back to my original recipe which is light and fluffy....changes are 1/2 tsp salt, 2 cups milk, 1/2 cup oil, 3 separated eggs, 1 tbsp sugar, vanilla optional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My favorite waffle recipe! I often add diced apples and some cinnamon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as stated and I found it to be bland and it lacked fluffiness. Needs to be sweetened up a little...and perhaps more baking soda? I used 1% milk...maybe that was part of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris McDaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Made these as stated and they turned out very light and moist. Based on taste after making a couple decided to add about a tbs of sugar and some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These were so fluffy. Way better than any mix. My only change was to add 2T. of sugar. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States