Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These were the best waffles, so much that I will not even buy a mix from now on. You do have to beat the eggs for about 8-10 minutes so they are really light. I did increase the sugar to 1/4 cup and added it to the eggs ads I was beating them. You have to make sure your waffle iron is very hot, and they are so light and crisp, they are just amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Didn't work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Husband and I tried this recipe this morning and followed it to the letter. They were completely inedible. The waffle tasted extremely salty with the aftertaste of a pretzel. I'm not sure if the ingredients have been altered on this site since the reviews seem to be so favorable. I really wanted to rate this a zero, however it does not allow me to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great start to the recipe. Taking ideas from others - Replaced oil with applesauce, substituted 1 cup wheat flour in place of 1 cup white flour and replaced white sugar with brown sugar. Separated whites from yolk. Non-dry 2 Eggs - separate whites from yolk. Beat whites until fluffy then add the yolk. Beat together before adding the other non-dry ingredients. 1 3/4 Milk 1 cup Apple sauce 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract Dry- add dry ingredients together before adding to Non-dry mixture. Sift flour if needed. 1 cup of Unbleached flour 1 cup of Whole wheat flour 1/4 tsp Cinnamon 4 tsp of Baking powder 1/4 tsp Salt 2 tbsp Brown sugar Pecans - unsalted dry roasted pecan pieces (trader joes) - stir in just before adding mixture to waffle iron. Toppings Easy to make homemade whipped cream (from 121 whipped cream recipe) freeze metal bowl for 15 minutes. Take 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and whisk until fluffy. Add 2 tbsps of sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla extract. Continue whisking until the right consistency--stiff with peaks. Frozen Organic strawberries and Organic wild boreal blueberries grown naturally with no pesticides (trader joes) Empty fruit into sauce pan on medium flame continuously stirring, add 1 tsp of sugar and 1/4 tsp of salt. Heat and stir until right saucy consistency with smaller than bite size fruit pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Great recipe made some substitutions and they were absolutely Delish! I used self rising all purpose flour so no need for baking powder and I used almond instead of vanilla and added cinnamon. We reheated the leftover KFC had the best chicken and waffles ever! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I have been asked to make this nearly every weekend since. I also added the brown sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Wonderful base recipe. I modified it to reduce some of the processed ingredients and it was super. I subbed 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 of the cups of flour. Used fat free buttermilk instead of regular milk. Subbed coconut oil for vegetable oil and used 1 tablespoon of honey instead of sugar. Also added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Served with berries, and pure maple syrup. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I am wondering how people can give this a good review are used to eating soggy egos or something. I am guessing they have never had a real good homemade waffle. When I can get a lighter crisper waffle from bisquick there is nothing to rave about These were heavy and they burned before they crisped up. Good waffles are light and crisp on the edges. This is more like a super bland and heavy recipe that would be used at a homeless shelter to fill peoples stomachs with a little food. Too much baking powder too much oil. YUCK YUCK YUCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzumiBrisingr
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Perfect easy, called for everything i already had in my kitchen. I beat egg whites separately and folded them in last absolutely best waffles ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Fabulous, easy recipe I will use every time. I only had 2% milk so I subbed in 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream to make the 1-3/4 cup called for. I also had to add an extra (approx) 1/3 cup 2% after mixing everything to thin it out. I used 1/4 veg oil and 1/4 cup melted butter. Used one whole tsp pure vanilla. I have a new, Foodnetwork non-stick, 4-slice waffle iron so I did not spray the iron. Set heat to crispy and they were still tender inside. Perfect. My batter made 10 fat waffles. A small dash of cinnamon or any other seasoning (or even chocolate chips or blueberries) would work great with this recipe. Versatile. Husband said they were the best waffles he's ever eaten and my 2 young kids inhaled them. Shared with several friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States