Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe was incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was just ok. It was pretty quick to prepare but it wasn't delicious. I followed the recipe except I doubled the sugar and vanilla and threw in a little bit of cinnamon and subbed whole wheat flour for AP flour. Despite the additional things I added/doubled, the taste was surprisingly bland. And I think subbing whole wheat flour was a bad idea. Next time, I'll try AP and see if it turns out more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
These turned out perfect! crispy outside tender inside! Will use this recipe again! ps I didn't have vanilla extract so used maple extract instead and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I followed it and it turned into a thick paste. The waffles weren't fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lazanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Not even syrup could perk up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
'Pretty much followed the recipe. :o :D As suggested by a review, subbed with melted butter - well, half melted butter, half oil - & I decreased it to 1/4c - so 2T each. Next time, I'll go for all melted butter. 'Didn't feel like opening a bag of flour so the last few Ts of flour were whole wheat. I added 3/4t imitation vanilla to give a creamy flavor vs vanilla (which I am sincerely in love with both). I was told by S that these were better than the previous recipe (Waffles II by RAZZ_BRRY_JAM), which was years ago. Hmmmm. E didn't say anything, but had three. :) These are crispy without being hard. (It's happened.) Tender inside. Note: They'll stick if not greased well (duh), but also if it's not preheated. 'Done when steaming nearly ceases. This made 11 waffles on my two-waffles-per-batch maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
We liked these. I substituted 1/2 of the oil for applesauce and used 1/2 whole wheat flour. I had to add an additional 1/3 c of flour, though, because the batter for me anyway, we a little too runny. turned out great! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This recipe was okay. The batter was thick and my waffles did not rise very much, but I attribute that to my making adjustments. I only added 2 tsp of baking powder in lieu of all the complaints that 4 was too much. I also upped the sugar to 2 1/2 TBSP of sugar, and added some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Good recipe with the following tweaks: - Added 1/2 TB sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon - Whisked egg whites until very fluffy then folded them into the mixed batter at the end The result were waffles that were very crisp but light. Certainly there are other recipes that add butter and loads of sugar, and therefore calories, but I wanted a more healthy option and this one was perfect. It made about 12 3"x3" waffles, eight of which are now frozen to be reheated for my daughter. All around a very good recipe and one that isn't overly loaded with calorie bloat. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Leatherman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Perfect waffles! I have tried numerous recipes and this recipe is the perfect balance for crispy on outside and fluffy on inside. I added an additional teaspoon of baking powder and used 1/4 cup of canola oil instead if the 1/2 cup vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States