Waffle Iron Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
"What's in a name? That which we call a brownie by any other name would taste as sweet." Brownies, cake, cookies whatever you call this, it is good. I made a gluten free version but followed the instructions. This is a thick batter (this could be due to my gf flour being thirstier than wheat flour) so I had to add 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce. It cooked up like a spongy cake but I left it in the waffle iron for a bit longer and it got a crusty outer shell that was moist and chewy inside. It isn't too sweet (a plus for me) and for the self proclaimed chocoholic reviewer who said these brownies aren't chocolatey enough, it's certified-you are a chocoholic :-). They aren't OVER chocolatey, but they are what I think a brownie should taste like. They aren't gooey chocolate so I get why people added chocolate chips, and may try that next time. Plus, topped with powdered sugar, whipped cream and jimmies what could be sweeter? I could see these being a nice idea for a party, if you cut the squares of a belgian waffle they make nice bite size treats! Thanks for the recipe Glynna_00
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Is it just me….?? They looked great - in the waffle iron. But we couldn't get them out! How did you do that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
just bought a waffle stick maker and was looking for fun recipes to try - you can't believe how good this recipe is in waffle stick form. We skipped the powdered sugar simply because we dont care for it. The brownies are super on their own! I've never made a batch of brownies faster than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are just ok. Good for chocolate waffles definately not brownies. Still pretty tastey was hoping for brownies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tallen20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I make these in a belgium waffle maker, and they're always a hit. They're simple to make, so an easy brownie fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
They were pretty good. Definitely more cakelike than anything. Not super chocolatly either, but I'm a total chocohalic and probably a chocolate bar isnt super choclaty to me XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I followed it to the t, and loved it. Watch it to make sure it doesn't overcook... and any leftovers get hard fast (you can microwave, but they're not the same). Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very cake like but dry I added choc. chips to mine and it made them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chezna Saxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
wow this turned out better than i could have imagined. i even added some caramel while it was in the waffle iron and then put ice cream on top. sooo gooooood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayandAlly Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
On my first trial I made the batter ahead of time and refrigerated it so that I could serve these warm. They turned out fine but I had to add water to get it back to the right consistency. I also have made these ahead of time and microwaved them to serve them warm. Both ways are still delicious especially when served with the cinnamon ice cream that another reviewer suggested! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States