Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This recipe for "wacky cake" was in the back of an American Girl book my daughter had. We tried it and thought it was excellent. Last weekend, I made a two-layer 1/2 sheet cake for my husband's boss' appreciation party. I wanted the bottom layer to be chocolate, so I used this no-fail recipe. Moist, chocolately, delicious - a winner every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was so good! I took the advice of others and made an icing of powdered sugar, margarine, milk and icing, but I also added a splash of vanilla. Everyone in my family agreed this is a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. It's one of the few things I can make for some of my vegan friends or if I happen to be out of milk and eggs. There are a few things I have changed: I use canola oil instead of vegetable oil, and I sometimes substitute the 1 c. water for 1 c. brewed coffee (hazelnut flavored) and sprinkle it with cinnamon sugar before baking. Both the original recipe and this variation are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This cake is outstanding, bakes up well and you would never guess it doesn't have egg, butter or dairy. I love it because no egg, butter and dairy = no cholesterol! Simple to make and ingredients are always on hand. I use chocolate extract and substitute coffee for the water. I can't say enough good things about this cake and make it often with different frostings!! (It's best after it sits for a day)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was a little nervous to try this recipe at first, but it is amazing. It rises almost as well as a regular cake, but it tastes just like one. I had someone tell me that it is probably the best cake they'd eaten! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I followed the directions to the letter, but the cake tasted awful. Not even the kids would eat it. It was slightly better the next day, but I still wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
PERFECT! I've made other versions of this cake before but needed one that made a smaller cake and I'm glad I chose this one! I did need to make some substitutions as I realized I was out of some ingredients after I started making the cake. Used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar..didn't make any difference. Also didn't have enough vegetable oil on hand so I used applesauce..ended up using 3 Tbsp oil and 3 Tbsp applesauce. Both worked just fine! Love this cake! Perfect size for 2 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I made cupcakes and baked them for 25 min. as others suggested. The cake was very chewy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is great! I worked with a lot of people with food allergies and this was perfect! I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil and it seemed to make it a little lighter. Plus I made them as cupcakes like another user said. (375 for 25 minutes)And I put chocolate frosting that I made ans substituted vegan butter and soy milk. I'll use it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Thank you! Thank you! An allergy family's dream come true! Most egg-free cakes taste like "egg-free" cakes. You can't tell the eggs are omitted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States