Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! My family always made this when I was little and this recipe tastes as good as I remember. Don't forget to have fun with some simple stencils or doilies. After my daughters and I made the cake, I cut out a stencil of their initials and sifted powdered sugar on top. Simple, but it made some smiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Delicious and easy cake! I only make this recipe now- I sometimes omit the cocoa for a plain white cake or add some grated/chopped apples and cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves for an apple spice version. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Awesome recipe! We are trying to go dairy & egg free, so this was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I've loved this cake for years. Trust me, nothing needs to be changed. Wacky cake is delicious with a Almond extract icing. Icing sugar, butter/margerine, milk and the extract to taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tseen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have reviewed many recipes for this cake. I don't need a 9x13 size so this one is perfect! I was very happy to find a recipe that hadn't been altered in the reviews so much that you couldn't be sure if the original recipe was any good stand alone. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Thanks so much...from a newcomer family to food allergies (dairy, casein, egg & peanuts). I actually mixed the dry ingredients first and made wells in the bowl, then mixed together. (I misread the instructions to do it all in the pan). After that, I transferred into the 8x8 pan. Baked as directed. Turned out moist and delicious. Will probably grease the pan next time since I know I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I'm making this in the form of cupcakes for my daughter's 1st birthday party. She is allergic to milk and eggs. So this is perfect! I did a trial run last night and these taste just like regular cake to me and my husband. Not so with some other recipes I've been trying... The recipe makes about 15 cupcakes. They baked for 25 min at 375. Came out just perfect. I used Pillsbury's cream cheese icing to frost them. It's milk and egg free too. Who would have thought? Thanks so much for this recipe. I'm sure it will be a hit this weekend!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I thought this was a bit rubbery in texture, but it tasted good, considering there isn't any butter in it. I served it with powdered sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I could not get this cake out of the pan, so will grease it next time. It uses easy ingredients that I had in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was EXCELLENT! I used a gluten free flour blend and added 1 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum....perfect! I've been going crazy trying to come up with a tasty birthday cake recipe for my son with multiple food allergies....this was perfect! I used the One Minute Chocolate Icing recipe from this site, and the entire family loves it! I have also doubled this, put into a Wilton character pan (greased and floured) and had great results as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States