Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I was disappointed in this recipe. It didn't rise and I felt that the apple cider vinegar came through too much. The taste is okay but the vinegar smell nearly ruins it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Erwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Fabulous!! I added a heaping teaspoon of espresso powder, mixed all the wet ingredients together then added to dry and sprinkled chopped up semi sweet chocolate on top before baking. Cake was done in 30 minutes. Never would I have guessed that the result was eggless. The cake is super moist and the extra chocolate made frosting unnecessary. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I'm giving the recipe 5 stars not because it's the best tasting cake I've ever had, but because it's the easiest. It's the easiest to make, to alter (I've made just about every flavor you can think of)and everyone who's had it has raved. Sure, you could make something more elaborate, but for someone without a lot of time, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
. Having the pan greased and the oven ready is crucial. You want to mix the dry ingrediants in one bowl, and the wet in another. Mix the wet to the dry until combined, pour into the baking pan and get in the oven. You don't want to tap the pan to get the bubbles out as I remember doing with box mixes. I also put the cocoa powder through a sieve to get out the lumps. This is a great mix to put the dry ingredient together in advance and keep in a ziploc bag. Just put on a label for the wet ingrediants and it's so quick to make for an unexpected occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Warning: Do not taste the cake while it is still hot!!!! There is something about the Vinegar and Baking Soda combination that is letting off a terrible odor/fumes/taste while the cake cools. Sort of bitter and metallic. Once the cake has cooled this is only very minimally detectable (if you are tasting for it), but if you taste the cake too early (I got overeager to trim the top flat) you will think the recipe has failed entirely. This bad taste isn't apparent if you taste the uncooked batter, or the cake once it has cooled. I threw out the first cake I made because I thought I must have accidentally mis-measured. My second careful version tasted just as bad while hot, but fortunately I left it on the counter, and my roommate asked to try it later that night. Amazingly, the terrible taste/odor had almost entirely vanished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Awesome! Better than expected. Great with some leftover decorator frosting with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Loved this cake! Had a sweet tooth going but very limited supplies in the house. This cake did the trick! Followed recipe exactly except added in mint chocolate chips into the batter! Put whipped cream on top after it cooled down and it was amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Amazingly moist and yum!just didn't miss egg n milk. My son is allergic to egg n milk. And he loves cakes. I keep searching cooking sites for delicious receipes so that my foodie son can relish his food!! This cake was gobbled by him in mins and I was a happy mom!! Thanks a millions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This cake is so moist and delicious. I have been making it for a long time. I always add a couple extra tablespoons of cocoa. You can make it in just a few minutes. It is so good with buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used to make this cake with my parents as a kid. It was so fun to make it one pan. I now make it with my kids. No need to tinker with it at all. The cake is amazingly moist and extremely easy to make. I always get a lot of compliments when I make it. It is great with no frosting and just a dusting of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States