Wacky Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
My mother made this cake almost every Sunday evening for desert during WWII and it became the family favorite. I have had to make copies of the recipe for all daughters in law and granddaughters as well as several friends. They can't believe the ease of mixing it and lack of normal ingredients. We usually ate it warm right out of the oven with "oleo" on it. She also had a spice cake recipe that called for dark syrup instead of sugar for sweetner. Sugar was rationed. There was no crisco, either. It is quite moist also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Simple .. foolproof .. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is so good.. my husband & family used to make wakey cake alot when we were young in the 70's. I lost that recipe twice..so glad it was here. I was trying to make something for dessert & ran out of eggs.the almond extract is an awwesome change. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Excellent and easy-remember science class when making a volcano erupt with baking soda and vinegar!! It appears to make this cake light and airy. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I was disappointed in this recipe. It didn't rise and I felt that the apple cider vinegar came through too much. The taste is okay but the vinegar smell nearly ruins it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Erwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Fabulous!! I added a heaping teaspoon of espresso powder, mixed all the wet ingredients together then added to dry and sprinkled chopped up semi sweet chocolate on top before baking. Cake was done in 30 minutes. Never would I have guessed that the result was eggless. The cake is super moist and the extra chocolate made frosting unnecessary. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I'm giving the recipe 5 stars not because it's the best tasting cake I've ever had, but because it's the easiest. It's the easiest to make, to alter (I've made just about every flavor you can think of)and everyone who's had it has raved. Sure, you could make something more elaborate, but for someone without a lot of time, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
. Having the pan greased and the oven ready is crucial. You want to mix the dry ingrediants in one bowl, and the wet in another. Mix the wet to the dry until combined, pour into the baking pan and get in the oven. You don't want to tap the pan to get the bubbles out as I remember doing with box mixes. I also put the cocoa powder through a sieve to get out the lumps. This is a great mix to put the dry ingredient together in advance and keep in a ziploc bag. Just put on a label for the wet ingrediants and it's so quick to make for an unexpected occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Warning: Do not taste the cake while it is still hot!!!! There is something about the Vinegar and Baking Soda combination that is letting off a terrible odor/fumes/taste while the cake cools. Sort of bitter and metallic. Once the cake has cooled this is only very minimally detectable (if you are tasting for it), but if you taste the cake too early (I got overeager to trim the top flat) you will think the recipe has failed entirely. This bad taste isn't apparent if you taste the uncooked batter, or the cake once it has cooled. I threw out the first cake I made because I thought I must have accidentally mis-measured. My second careful version tasted just as bad while hot, but fortunately I left it on the counter, and my roommate asked to try it later that night. Amazingly, the terrible taste/odor had almost entirely vanished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Awesome! Better than expected. Great with some leftover decorator frosting with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States