Wacky Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The original recipe for Wacky Cake is from the 1940s when ingredients such as eggs were rationed, and also because many people still did not have electric frigs and could not store dairy items for long. This made a nice dessert using ingredients one had on hand. This is my favorite cake recipe though we prefer powdered sugar (sometimes using a paper doily or a stencil to make a design on top) rather than icing. Another way we like this cake is to add 1/2 cup of pecans to the batter, then once it is out of the oven, to poke holes in the cake and squirt in a caramel sauce to make a type of turtle snack cake. An ice cream caramel sauce in a jar works well if you have limited time to make one from scratch. This cake is much more dense than other cake recipes but also very moist. It is also a great base recipe to experiment with additions to the batter or with different toppings. Do not over-bake or much of the moistness that makes this cake so good will be lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was my Mom's go-to cake while I was growing up. Can't count how many times we baked this together. Sigh... Only changes are: I use 3/4 cup melted crisco instead of the butter and I use a different frosting. Important note: The cake does NOT taste good when it is slightly warm, so even though you might be tempted to cut into it and steal a slice right away, hold off. You will be grateful. I don't know whether it takes the cool down for the vinegar taste to go away or what, but this is horrible when warm, DIVINE when cool. The cake holds up really well to layering. I have been asked for this recipe so many times - my Mom would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
MIX CAKE BATTER IN A BOWL!! It was instinct to mix this up in a bowl. I sifted all the dry first, then mixed up the wet ingredients together, then made a well in the centre and it mixed up beautifully. I greased the pan and checked it after 29min and cooked another 4min. It tastes delicious, just made it for my daughter's Birthday. It was loved by all. I couldn't imagine throwing the ingredients all in a pan and mixing it that way. It is so much easier to use a bowl and a liquid measure. I used butter. Ten tablespoons is a 150ml or a half cup plus a tablespoon and 2 teaspoons. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Wow. Great cake. Just about everyone ate it, including my daughter's friends, my family etc. I did use veggie oil substitute instead of margarine but otherwise kept it the same. You can smell a little of the vinegar ( smells a bit odd) as this comes out of the oven, but once it completely cools there is no strange aroma at all. Smells just like chocolate cake. I used my icing instead of the recipes, because mine is loved by all my family. 2 cups icing sugar, 2 cups real whipped cream and 1/3 cup cocoa whipped with electric beaters, spread on cooled cake. After a night in the fridge, the cake was a dead ringer for the type you buy at the supermarket, slightly dense, moist and chocolaty. Yep, you guessed it. I'm making it again tonight. lol. I also mix it with an electric beater in a separate bowl first so there's no lumps and transfer to a lightly greased and lined pan. Thanks alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very YUMMY cake! I mixed everything in one bowl in order given. Great because you don't need to grease and flour the pan! And I used the advice of another reviewer, coffee instead of water! It makes the chocolate much more flavorful without tasting like mocha. It was a perfect Valentine's day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
Excellent spur of the moment cake, because it does not require eggs. Rises to look like a normal cake. The frosting was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Made this cake last week for my family (minus the icing). It was absolutely the best cake! I have never made a cake from scratch before and this was better than any cake from a box. Definitely will be making it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I really enjoyed the way this cake tasted, though I did do the veggie oil subsitution for butter, and powdered sugar on top instead of frosting. To me it was plenty rich and chocolatey without chocolate frosting on top. The only downside was that I found it VERY difficult to mix it in the pan without sloshing stuff all over the place....I used a 9" x 13" glass Pyrex pan, so it wasn't any sort of unusual size. I would've much preferred mixing it up in a separate bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My Mom's "Picnic Chocolate Cake" is nearly identical...instead of margarine use 2/3 cup oil (I like peanut or canola)...it never tasted like vinegar and was always more moist than regular cakes. I get raves every time I make it. I use only 1 tsp. of vanilla if it's from the Bourbon or Mexican bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
excellent! I, too, chose to make a homemade buttercream frosting but love the cake--we never have eggs readily on hand and this tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YVONNETOND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States